Skip to content

(Rest of) February running plan

February 8, 2010

I can be a bit Type A and get overexcited about running and push myself too far and too fast.   I don’t mean to say I’m actually fast or that I actually run super far…  but I need a plan in order to help me focus on building my base up without letting me get carried away.

This means… no speed work.  Really, it was silly to \start, but the idea of running with my coworkers seemed so nice that I started anyway.  I’m not ready for speed work yet.

This also means not to run as far as I can, just because I can.  Increasing mileage needs to be deliberate, slow, and include plenty of rest and recovery. I don’t want to be limping down the aisle in a couple months!

My plan is to run twice during the week and a longer run Saturday, with cross training Sundays.   T is really into biking right now (his bike is worth more than my car!), so I’m hoping to join in with that now and then.  Or even try swimming again!  (I swam in high school.)

Anyway, here is my tentative plan.  It is a little bit arbitrary at this point, and I might tweak it as I go, but it is somewhere to start.

Week 1 (what I did):   4.6 miles, 1.5 miles, 4.8 miles
Week 2:  3 miles, 2.5 miles, 4.5 miles
Week 3:  2.5 miles, 2 miles, 4 miles
Week 4:  3 miles, 2.5 miles, 5 miles

Or something like that. I’m still planning on continuing the 30 day shred as a second priority on off days.

I haven’t decided exactly what I’m doing with my running, but I know there will be something.  I’m contemplating the Disney half-marathon (Sept), Malibu half or full marathon (November), and/or the Big Sur Marathon (next April).  All of these are far enough away that I don’t need to center my plan around them.  That is a good thing.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    February 8, 2010 2:39 pm

    I ran my first half marathon this weekend. I used a training plan I found online. I didn’t completely devote myself to it like I probably needed. However, I will say that I felt prepared. Running is mostly a mental game with me. I started training in November and did the half by Feb. It sounds like you have a pretty good timeline set up for yourself!

Leave a Reply

