Skip to content

Shoe repair: $12

February 9, 2010

I used to think that the only shoes worth repairing were much more expensive than I’d spend on a shoe.  You know, designer shoes. Louboutin, jimmy choos…  Not $50 shoes from amazon.com!

However, the heel fell off my almost-new brown work shoes last fall, I decided to give it a try.  I was so satisfied that when my black work shoes got worn out heels, I brought them in as well.  For $12, I avoided spending my monthly clothing budget on (boring) basic work shoes!  I have a new heel plus he shined them up — they look almost new!

I hesitated writing about this as a frugal tip, because I have a feeling it something a lot of people do as a matter of course, and it is only recently that people like me exist.  That is, people who thought that just because the heel is worn, the shoe’s life is over.  I feel like I discovered a great secret, but maybe the joke is on me and everyone always knew this!

Do you repair your shoes?

For fun, here is a photo I took of my two pairs of most worn work shoes — even though i linked both above.  I actually photographed all my shoes in December as part of an inventory (that I have not completed or posted!), then suddenly all the cool kids are posting theirs before I ever mentioned anything!  Now I’m just a copy cat!  Perhaps another photo of the rest of them soon, if anyone says they wouldn’t be bored to tears.  (This is pre-repair on the black ones, but you can’t really tell that much.)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 11:29 pm

    I frequently take my shoes to the cobbler, in fact, he knows me well and comments on my “excellent shoe collection” (symptom of a greater problem I think). But I do know that he takes good care of my shoes, and I have had many a heel resuscitated by his capable hands. In my area, a re-heel runs about $10-12, I get zip soles (rubber protective soles layered on top my the leather soles of my nicer shoes) for $17 (this does add to the brand new cost of each shoe purchase, but given the enhanced longevity of the shoe, and the improved support and comfort rubber soles add, it’s worth it). And I always get a free polish with each visit! Hurrah for cobblers!

  2. February 10, 2010 6:46 am

    First of all, I love shoe pictures. Somehow, I can usually use it to justify buying more shoes.

    I have actually been thinking about getting a pair of $20 peep-toes from Nine West repaired. I actually wore a hole through the sole! How did you find your cobbler?

    • February 10, 2010 7:55 am

      like most things, i tried yelp. who knew people were so passionate about cobblers?

  3. February 10, 2010 7:46 am

    I’ve never taken my shoes to a shoe cobbler but I’ve meaning to take a pair of boots to get stretched. I have bigger calves and a friend of mine said they can stretch them out. I’m hoping it’s reasonable but it seems like it is.

  4. February 10, 2010 10:30 am

    I have the perfect pair of black pointy toe heels. They’ve been to the cobbler about 3 times and I fear that they’ve seen better days and it’s time to find another pair. I drive past mine on a regular basis. It’s a family owned place that’s been there forever, so I just assumed they would do a good job.

  5. February 10, 2010 10:31 am

    I have gotten gone to the shoe repair guy before but have never made a regular habit of it. But, the pair I’m wearing today – black wedges from Report – are in need of some attention. This may just motivate me to take them in to see what can be done to save them!!

  6. February 10, 2010 10:53 am

    I have taken Payless heels to the cobbler. $12 shoes plus a $12 reheel makes $24 shoes that I’ve had for three or four years–that is not a bad deal at all!

  7. February 10, 2010 2:29 pm

    I love those shoes – they are gorgeous!

  8. February 11, 2010 12:35 am

    Muahaha, for the first time, I’ve kicked off a trend! Sorry about stealing your idea, though. Please do feel free to share, I’d like to see your collection!

    • February 11, 2010 7:44 am

      Ha! you didn’t steal it, you had it too and were much more quick to act. Unless you stole it out of my head! Ha.

  9. June 21, 2012 10:25 am

    12$ for shoe repair is a good deal, when it comes down to it your never going to find a pair of shoes for 12$ that are any good! I think your repaired shoes look very good!

Trackbacks

  1. My shoes! « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

