Skip to content

Fulfilled wish list

February 13, 2010

So, my tax refund went towards fulfilling my every want and desire.  Seriously.  There are things that have been on my wish list since last January that I finally bought.  It feels weird.

  • I finally replaced my lost passport.  It would have expired this month anyway, so no harm done.
  • We bought a new duvet cover!  We registered for new sheets, but the duvet cover was at a different store.
  • I bought a new Canon G11. I’ve been contemplating almost a year and wanted to have a chance to get to know it before our honeymoon and such.  T gave me our $150 cash back bonus for our joint card for it, and I paid the rest.  Which was $319.
  • I got a few new bras — much needed.
  • New concealer (last month, actually).
  • I was no longer able to talk myself out of a Garmin Forerunner.  The old style, because they are half the cost and had great reviews.  We looked at them in Best Buy and the size difference wasn’t as dramatic as photos seem to make it.

I could definitely come up with a brand new wish list (uh, shoes anyone?).  Isn’t that weird, how wants are regenerative?  For now I’m trying to focus on enjoying my new toys and avoiding acquiring anything new until after the wedding (Which is barely two months away!  Eeeek!)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2010 1:17 pm

    We’re using our refund to finish off our credit card debt and buy me a new computer (mine is almost 7 years old and on its deathbed). For wedding invites, we used Rexcraft.com and had no problems at all. Good luck with your wedding planning!

  2. February 13, 2010 3:40 pm

    You are going to love your Garmin!

    • February 13, 2010 5:14 pm

      i already love it and i don’t even have it yet! 🙂 My nike+ is too inaccurate and I keep having to map my runs after i get home!

  3. gwen permalink
    February 15, 2010 2:16 pm

    okay, i’m a dork, but the wedding invitation in your picture is so cool! is it like yours? and where did the picture come from? i have some friends who’re getting married this summer, and they’re kind of stressed about actually getting things together for the wedding, because they’re low-key and weddings usually aren’t, and i’d love to send them the link, if there is one (I was also looking at http://googleblog.blogspot.com/2010/02/simple-wedding-planning-with-google.html via geeksugar the other day). It must be neat to have the things on your wishlist (although i know what you mean about its regenerative abilities). My tax refund is going towards getting me the last bit out of non-student-loan debt, and savings (and probably a night on the town with a friend).

    • SP permalink*
      February 15, 2010 3:23 pm

      Yes, those are the ones! (not our names, of course)

      They actually are not super cheap as far as invites go as they have raised printing, but I let T pick out the invites and he really liked them. They are from Wedding Paper Divas — if you stay out of the special collections those can be pretty cheap. http://www.weddingpaperdivas.com/product/4517/thermography_wedding_invitations_sweet_sketch.html

      Last bit of debt is a great use for a tax refund!

      • gwen permalink
        February 18, 2010 4:32 pm

        Ah! I just saw this! Thanks so much for sharing the link; they’re lovely

Leave a Reply

