Skip to content

Moons

March 10, 2010

I thought Debt Ninja sounded a bit defensive when explaining why he was spending $4,000 on a honeymoon (turns out he was slammed over at the consumerist awhile back).   As long as he’s not putting it on a credit card, why would anyone be upset at him for going on a big trip with his best girl?

We are cheaping out big time on the official honeymoon.  T and I are driving north, stopping in Central Coast wine country for a night, then heading up to Big Sur for two nights.   I’m super excited to go somewhere so beautiful and chill for a couple days.  Some wine, some good food, and lots of quality time with T!

I’ll be back at work on Thursday without a tan, without zen, without having sipped any fruity cocktails.  The total cost will be about $700 for the two of us.

(via)

HOWEVER! This is only the minimoon!  The real honeymoon is later!

I have big plans for a big trip, and the best time (for us, for the place, and to accumulate extra vacation time) to go is late summer or early fall.  This trip is (hopefully) going to last at least 10 days, it’s going to cover at least 2 countries, and it is going to be AMAZING.  It is also going to cost about $6000 (probably).

I’m currently putting $300-$400 month into my travel fund for this.  Ever since we’ve moved to Cali, we’ve traveled on the (relatively) cheap.  Camping, backpacking, or visiting friends.  This is fine.  But this is our year to do something big!

I’m definitely an advocate of camping, hiking, and otherwise frugal travel.  But more than that, I’m an advocate of traveling and seeing the world.  I’ve been to a lot of fabulously cheap places, but some places I want to see aren’t cheap.  I claim I value travel, that travel is a passion.  This year, I’m putting my money where my mouth is.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 10:01 pm

    Multiple moons! I love it!!

    You will have a blast on both 🙂 Since travel is also one of my passions… WOOHOO! 😀

  2. March 11, 2010 6:58 am

    I thought the backlash against Debt Ninja spending money he has on something he wants to be a little crazy. Really, it probably spends from jealousy – either those commenters can’t afford a trip like that, or they’re too stuck in Miser Mode to enjoy a trip like that.

    I love the minimoon! We did that sort of unintentionally. Really, the time together is what’s important.

  3. Bonnie permalink
    March 11, 2010 7:48 am

    I’m with you–I’ve NEVER regretted any travel expenses. Travel is always worth it.

  4. Ronnie permalink
    March 11, 2010 12:12 pm

    I am LOVING the mini-moons concept! That might be the way to go when me and my honey get married. We’re trying to do things as cheaply as possible since our parents can’t contribute, and taking a short moon right after the wedding and saving for a bigger one later is genius! Pure genius!!

  5. March 11, 2010 2:15 pm

    Go for it! I’m with you that people spend money and time on the things they truly value. If you value travel then there is no reason to be defensive – or to be slammed – for spending money on it.

  6. March 11, 2010 4:53 pm

    I totally agree! If you have the money to travel, or you plan to save the money, then enjoy the trip and don’t worry about the cost or what other people think about it. You need to spend your money on the things that make you happy.

  7. oilandgarlic permalink
    March 12, 2010 5:33 pm

    I can’t wait to hear about your big travel plans! There are so many wonderful places to visit in this big world.

Leave a Reply

