Skip to content

March Fitness

March 11, 2010

My running is going well — I usually find myself looking forward to evening runs.  Even when I don’t, I still can talk myself into 3-4 miles because I know if I don’t do the midweek running, I can’t do my Saturday long runs.   Daylight savings time is going to make the sun stay up until 7 pm, and I’ll have no trouble getting out even if I have to stay later at work.  Anyway, I’m only running 2 times during the week, and once on the weekend.  It is a very lax base training phase, but my mileage is increasing 10% a week.  If I push it (which I might not — don’t want to get injured) I might be able to do 10 miles in less than two short weeks!

Beyond that, I just can’t get into 30 day shred anymore.  First, the  cardio circuits feel like a waste of time.  It isn’t that they aren’t a good work out, but if I’m running 3 times a week for at least 30 minutes each, what is two minutes of jumping jacks really doing for me?  Second, my goal was never to “burn the most amount of calories as quickly as possible” and Jillian’s encouragements fall on dead ears. I just wanted to improve my strength.

Still, I want to keep strength training, and I’m not ready to buy a new DVD… so I’ll try to stick with it.  For now.  In the meantime, any favorite strength DVDs?  Or do you just make up your own at home routines?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. seenonflickr permalink
    March 11, 2010 1:51 pm

    I’ve seen so many mentions of 30 Day Shred in the past couple of weeks! (Most people seem to be giving up on it and doing something else.)

  2. March 11, 2010 7:50 pm

    I had the same issue with the 30-Day Shred. It might be perfect once we’re done training, but I don’t need to squeeze in a 20-minute workout after running 5 miles.

    For now, I’m sticking to running + yoga. If I want to start weight training, I have dumbbells and understand how to work most of my muscles, so I think I’ll just stick to that.

    • Sp permalink*
      March 12, 2010 8:59 am

      Hmm… it isn’t that I don’t know HOW to lift weights, but I’ve tried 100% DIY routines and they are boring, plus I don’t stick to them.

      I like the idea of circuits, but I’m just not a fan of the little cardio circuits and jillian telling me that I want to burn calories.

  3. March 12, 2010 8:21 am

    I’m more of a fan of doing exercise classes. They keep me motivated. I always fall off the wagon when I try running by myself. Right now I’m taking a yoga class and an abs class.

    • Sp permalink*
      March 12, 2010 8:58 am

      I have no trouble sticking with running, but anything beyond that is just too much for me to handle

Leave a Reply

