Skip to content

Layoffs

March 18, 2010

I got an email today announcing that our department would be hit with a “relatively small” number of layoffs due to lack of business to support our current work force.

Since I’ve worked with my company, I’ve seen an email like this each year (though the first year was probably not considered “small”), and last year it was a little bit terrifying as my program had ended and I didn’t have real work to do.  But I survived.  This year, I’m not very worried.  My program is relatively stable, I’ve been crazy busy, and it seems highly unlikely that I’ll be affected.  Nor will those I work directly with.  I’m getting more confident in my skills and my value, and this year really is going to be my year at work — I can tell.

At least the job market is improving a little, and those who are laid off should be able to put their skills to use elsewhere.  It’s still depressing though.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2010 6:29 am

    How did you feel about getting an anoucement like thsi via e-mail? Was it the best way to communicate that message?

  2. March 18, 2010 6:43 am

    In my opinion, yes — the company isn’t intimate enough for each person to be told individually and we have staff meetings once a month, but each manager has it a a different day/time. (this is my managers manager who sent this.)

    If they told us in person, some people would hear the news weeks before others. And calling a big meeting just to warn us of that seems like a waste of time, since everyone works all over.

    That being said there is a follow up meeting discussing this I think.

    Maybe some people would prefer face to face, but I’d rather have a heads up email ASAP.

  3. March 18, 2010 6:59 am

    Oy! I hope that you’re right and won’t get laid off. So many PF ladies have been laid off recently 😦

  4. March 18, 2010 12:53 pm

    I’m not sure how I feel about emails. On the one hand it always bothered me that layoffs were done so covertly in our company (we’d find out weeks later when news traveled through the grapevine), but on the other hand it probably would’ve affected some people’s performance and made them defensive knowing the clock was ticking for someone, and without knowing who. I definitely appreciated being relatively in the know that my job had an end date; I wasn’t caught by surprise like a few other people I had worked with before.

    I hope you’re right too!

  5. SP permalink*
    March 18, 2010 2:39 pm

    I’m about 0% worried. I suppose you never know, but generally if you are on a program and you are really busy you don’t get laid off unless your program is cutting funding

  6. frugalhomeowner permalink
    March 19, 2010 7:54 am

    Layoffs are always a scary thing even if you are pretty sure it will not be you. When your co-workers leave part of your work support system leaves with them creating a pretty somber atmosphere.

    I ope that your workplace will support the laid off persons with severance packages and some counselors to help them through this.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

