Skip to content

Weekend fun destroys my savings

March 22, 2010

My ideal weekend, which I’ve enjoyed many of, goes something this:  Friday night I catch up with T.  We walk to the beach together and watch the sunset while chatting.  The evening is low key.  We stay in or go out somewhere very local — walking distance.   Wine is usually enjoyed.

Saturday we go on a hike together, or I go for a run on my own and follow up with something relaxing like Pilates while he goes on a super long cycle.  Saturday night is fun night.  We go out and do something new and/or meet up with friend.  We stay out until about 12:30 or 1 — not too late, but late enough.

Sunday we drink lattes together and get things done.  Groceries, tidying, and sometimes some more fun errands or activities.  Fresh with groceries, I cook something fabulous, plus batch cook a little for the week (this has not happened in at least 2 months).  We watch a movie or something together in the evening, and get to bed relatively early to be fresh for the week.  A reasonable balance of going out, staying in, spending and saving.

This past weekend… was nothing like that.  In a good way, but a totally not relaxing way!

We went out in the neighborhood Friday, drove all around L.A. playing tour guide Saturday, provided yummy fish tacos and in-n-out, went out in Hollywood Saturday night, crashed at the Beverly Hilton (our friend had a free room!), watched the marathon in the morning from our balcony, then headed up to central coast wine country for some tasting and a pretty fabulous (and expensive) dinner in Solvang.

We raced our friend to LAX for his red eye flight out, and got home just before 10.  I started the week dreading some missed deadlines (not my fault!) and a bad day.  It wasn’t so bad after all though.

So. If you are counting, that is every. single. meal. ate out.  Expensive weekend though.  Between my massive car expenses this month and this weekend (and maybe next – we have some potential fun plans!) I don’t think I’m saving any CASH this month.  Luckily my retirement savings are automated and I’m still saving there.  But it has been a long time since I’ve saved NO cash in a month!  In fact… has that ever happened?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 8:19 pm

    The last fortnight has totally shot my budget to hell too. Especially now that T and I have opposite days off. Except this week we DID share a day off and spent WAYYY too much, not to mention an extravagant Sunday brunch before I went to work!

  2. March 25, 2010 8:30 am

    I LOVE Solvang. Haven’t been there in years but I loved it.. sounds like a great weekend – even if it was a bit overloaded 🙂

  3. March 26, 2010 9:27 pm

    … I can’t even say when the last time was that I truly saved cash. (!!) You’re just on a downswing right now, but that’s what all that saving before (and to come) is for. 🙂

Leave a Reply

