Skip to content

Weekend relaxation ahead!

March 26, 2010

Readers, I really appreciate you hanging in there with me over the past… 6 months or so.  Life has been insane.  Really really insane and for the most part, I’d just rather not talk about the crazy parts and focus on the good.  Sometime after the wedding I want to dedicate (just a little bit) more time and effort to my blog (or abandon it entirely) because if something is important, you treat it like it is important.

My sentiments towards the wedding stuff is largely unchanged.  I’m excited to be married, not excited for the fuss and details, but the work is getting done and the day will be beautiful and I get to marry T.  I wonder if we did a lot of things “wrong” but it is too late to change them, so I’ll embrace what we have planned and move forward.  It is still small and simple as we wanted.  Just not inexpensive.  Some things have happened that upset me a lot this week, but it is all no one’s fault, and it all will be ok.  Really it will.

My sentiments towards my money is conflicted.  I don’t want to set savings goals that I’ll only fail, but I do want to save a ton of money.   I also want to do whatever I want without considering cost too much.  These things don’t add up to a happy money plan.  I’ve also been less diligent about tracking things and I feel estranged from my finances.  I’m kind of excited to spend some time organizing them this weekend!

My sentiment towards running is also mixed.  I’m almost ready to set my first real race goal (half marathon) but I’m nervous I won’t be able to stick to the training.  I want to sit down this weekend and think about it and really decide on it.  I have only ran once per a week the past two weeks, and it is really truly because life has been crazy.  I want to refocus, because this will help my stress go down.

I’m looking forward to this weekend a lot.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Bonnie permalink
    March 26, 2010 11:56 am

    Don’t abandon your blog. 😦

  2. SP permalink*
    March 26, 2010 1:03 pm

    Awww, that’s not the plan. But it seems so sad to have such a neglected blog!

  3. Christine permalink
    March 26, 2010 4:18 pm

    I have some half-marathon tips. I did one a couple years ago despite not being much into running. I signed up with two runner friends for a “destination” half-marathon in Washington. (It was the North Olympic Discovery Marathon and absolutely gorgeous with few hills and perfect running weather, i.e. overcast and cool. I highly recommend.) I think signing up is the first step to sticking to training because once you have money in it, you don’t want to waste it! And if you book with friends and need airplane tix and hotel, then you definitely don’t want to be the downer and not complete the half-marathon! I did a basic training plan with easy 3-5 mi runs 2x during the week and one progressively longer run on the weekend. I think it was a 3 month plan, and I went into it with only having run 3 mi once a week. I do play soccer once a week as well, so that definitely helped with the fitness level. I’d definitely recommend mixing some sprint sessions in as that will really boost your endurance, and it’s really time efficient. Go for it!

  4. Tiffany permalink
    March 26, 2010 7:32 pm

    I signed up for the Disneyland Half Marathon in September. I am nowhere near being prepared enough to run 13.1 miles, but am encouraged to train b/c I’ve already invested the $$$ for it!

  5. March 26, 2010 9:31 pm

    I wouldn’t say you’ve *neglected* so much as not updated daily. That’s ok. I mean, obviously we’d like to see more from you but you can only do so much. Go get yourself married and then see how you feel once the dust settles and the bills are paid. 🙂

  6. March 27, 2010 9:02 am

    I also struggle with my desire to have fun, and live life, and my desire to just save money. I’m beginning to wonder if I’ll look back later in life and regret the things I turned down in order to save a buck. This putting my life on hold thing is really starting to bother me… and it’s not like I even have the savings to justify it anymore!

  7. March 27, 2010 6:48 pm

    There are days I try to imagine if I had been a blogger while planning my wedding. I end up shuddering. So try not to worry too much about “neglect” because that’s really not the case. I feel like you update fairly regularly.

    As for the wedding, I felt exactly as you did: I’m excited for the whole thing — but partially just for it to be over and done with. The stress was, well, stressful!

    I went into with the following attitude, which really helped:

    1. You won’t remember a lot of it anyway. It’s a blur with some moments that stand out. Accept that and you won’t be too hyper trying to log it all in crystal-clear detail.

    2. Things will go wrong. No matter how carefully you plan. If you accept that ahead of time, you’re not so stressed out about every little detail being perfect. Put people in charge of small areas where you can (you *don’t* want to be worrying about details on top of everything else) and be prepared for things to go a tad screwy. We expected things to go a little haywire and, when they went relatively according to plan, felt incredibly relieved.

  8. seenonflickr permalink
    March 30, 2010 8:44 am

    There is no “wrong”… if you want to get married, and at the end of the day you’re married, you’ve succeeded!!

    If you haven’t already, check out Offbeat Bride for some calming and supportive posts! (http://offbeatbride.com/)

Leave a Reply

