Skip to content

Emergency Fund In Action

March 31, 2010

Two last minute one-way plane tickets to the midwest ran me just under $400.

Trust me, that is a pretty good deal — but I have to fly into my parents town rather than the town that the funeral is in.   I’ll drive to the town my relatives all live in with them, and fly back next week.  I’m taking the same flight they are taking to come to my wedding the following Saturday.

Yes I can cashflow this to the detriment of my savings, especially since this is a 3 paycheck month.  But it is just easier to temporarily take it from the efund and worry about the details later.

My company allows sick leave as bereavement leave, and while I’m not excited about using several days of it, I also think it is for the best.  I could rush back to L.A. and put in a couple days of work before the wedding.  Or I could… not.  I could spend a little extra time with my family.

Yeah, work has been super busy.  But life happens.  They will manage without me.  My day-to-day lead was very encouraging of not rushing back and not worrying about work.

I’m not going to say much about the personal side of my aunt’s passing away — but it is incredibly sad for the whole family, especially her two daughters that are just a few years younger than I am.  And it is one of those moments when you look at your emergency fund and wonder why it can’t do more to help.

Money can’t help, but it can bring me to where I need to be.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. tom permalink
    March 31, 2010 8:12 pm

    Take the time off and be with your family. Your lead is right, do not rush back, everyone and everything will be fine.

    Very sorry for your loss.

    • March 31, 2010 8:33 pm

      I know — sometimes it just takes some else to say it, ya know? Doesn’t hurt that it is someone with authority and who basically manages my work load.

  2. March 31, 2010 9:54 pm

    So glad that you have the EF to fall back on. Don’t worry too much about money right now – family comes first. There’s nothing more important than the people in your life.

  3. March 31, 2010 10:30 pm

    So sorry for your loss, but so glad you have your EF and can be there for your family. And like others have said, work can wait and do without you, but your family will cherish this time you spend with them.

  4. El Cheapo permalink
    March 31, 2010 11:48 pm

    I am truly sorry to hear about your loss SP. Like EEM just said, family first. Take care

  5. April 1, 2010 10:42 am

    I’m sorry for your loss. It’s nice to have money tucked away so that an already upsetting situation doesn’t get even more stressful having to worry about money.

  6. April 1, 2010 11:29 am

    Sorry for your loss…in time you won’t even remember about the money, but you’ll remember those times you shared with your family.

  7. April 1, 2010 12:01 pm

    It’s great that you have some money saved up for times like these, and really reiterates the fact that an emergency fund is always useful. I’m sorry to hear about your family’s loss, and hope that you get to spend some nice quality time with your relatives without a lot of stress.

  8. April 1, 2010 1:03 pm

    I’m so sorry for your loss. Money isn’t everything, but it’s great that you have the EF to fall back on. Now go spend time with your family.

  9. April 2, 2010 6:18 am

    Sorry to hear about your aunt.

  10. April 5, 2010 9:45 pm

    I’m so sorry about your aunt! 😦

Leave a Reply

