Skip to content

Wedding Wednesday: It’s almost here!

April 7, 2010

First, read this for inspiration (and also, I stole her “wedding wednesday” title for this week, and maybe 1-2 more times…)

I would have LOVED to plan a wedding in 30 days, and I also really really love the idea of a backyard wedding.  Unfortunately I also liked the idea of a wedding in the L.A. area, and a beach wedding, and we didn’t know anyone with a backyard here.  Looking back, perhaps… (no, let’s not go down that road — too late!)

It is unfair to claim I spent a year planning my wedding.  We made a few big decisions in the first month or two (May and June), then basically did nothing until January.  When I was home in September, I picked bridesmaid dresses.  Other than that, from july-december, we focused on other things.  Like backpacking trips and completing my master’s degree and daydreaming about a honeymoon.

From January (well, really February) on, we’ve been slowly making progress.  I’m the type of person who would love EVERYTHING to be done weeks in advance, but it hasn’t quite happened that way.  We still have little things to do.  And of course I won’t be devastated if they aren’t done (well, my dress absolutely needs to be pressed — I’ve tried it on), but I’m kind of tired of people insisting that:

1) the only thing that matters is that we’ll be married at the end of the day!
and
2) no one will notice [insert x,y,z]!

Regarding (1), that is most certainly the reason for the whole day, but if that was my ONLY goal, I can think of cheaper and easier ways to accomplish it than having any sort of wedding at all.  I’ve not lost sight of what is important, but this particular comment drives me bonkers.  Other things matter too.  They may not matter as much, but they DO matter a little bit.  No, no one except me cares about a lot of the deatils, but does that mean they don’t matter at all?!

Regarding (2).  I’m not insane and I know pretty much no one will remember the details of the wedding.  Probably not even ME, in time!  They likely won’t recall the cake, the color scheme, the ceremony itself.  I mean, I barely cared about some stuff, but we made decisions and we went ahead with them.   But that doesn’t mean no one will notice anything? (Noticing is different than remembering!)  What are they so busy with that absolutely everything will escape their notice?  Especially before they have any wine?  What is everyone going to be doing?  (Playing hangman on the back of the programs?  Possibly.  But everyone!?)  Plus, don’t people remember if things go badly or wrong?  Eh, maybe not.

Anyway, I feel surprisingly calm lately.  When I come back to LA next week, my family will be with me, and the final few days I don’t have to work and can get any last minute things done.  Like getting my dress pressed, packaging up the favors, getting the marriage license, finishing the programs, and… that’s really about it.  On the short list at least.  You don’t want to see the long list, trust me.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    April 7, 2010 1:32 pm

    Hahaha! I am laughing at the comment about people playing hangman on the back of the programs, because that’s similar to what we orchestrated at my wedding just two weeks ago–we created a crossword puzzle for the back of the program for those who arrived early and were bored before the ceremony. All the clues and answers were fun facts about us. Then, we printed the answer keys (4 to a page) on cardstock and left one on each table at the reception. It was a big hit, and it made sense, since one of our “dates” when we were dating long-distance was doing the New York Times crossword puzzles together.

    Best of luck with everything! People DO notice the small touches, too, so you’re right on with that one. They’ll say they won’t because they love you and they don’t want you to fuss on account of them, but if you DO fuss a bit for them, they’ll eat it right up. I’ve never heard so much feedback about trail mix in my life as I have since our hotel guests got their welcome bags. Crossing my fingers for you! 🙂

    • April 7, 2010 7:12 pm

      amazing idea — i’m just a little bit too lazy to implement something like that (even if i had much more time) but I really like it! Very fun!

  2. April 7, 2010 2:14 pm

    Hooray for feeling calm and taking it all with a grain of salt. I admire your attitude about your wedding and the fact that you’ve stayed cool and calm for most of the process.
    Those who remember the little things that have been overlooked or aren’t even there don’t matter at all. People are always going to judge, but hopefully they’ll keep their mouths shut about it! 🙂

    Have a great wedding!

    • April 7, 2010 8:39 pm

      Very true — they are just being kind. I’m obviously taking them too literally 🙂

  3. Mr.Jack permalink
    April 12, 2010 5:16 pm

    Are you married yet???

  4. April 15, 2010 11:48 pm

    Ahh how exciting. It’s going to be a magnificent day for you! Congrats

  5. April 21, 2010 9:43 am

    Every couple is different and therefore the timing is different. Congratulations on getting MARRIED!! Is your wedding this Saturday or next? Don’t worry about the [x, y, z] it’s going to be LOVELY. 🙂 So happy for you two!!!

  6. June 26, 2010 10:18 pm

    Oh, boy! I wish I had known you linked to me back when it happened! 🙂 But thanks!

Leave a Reply

