Skip to content

I raised my own rent!

May 3, 2010

We’re planning on continuing to split the rent each month even though we are married.  It’s just easier.  Obviously if he was struggling to pay his portion, I wouldn’t attempt to evict him or anything silly like that.  I’d just pay it, of course, and vice versa.  It’s just a matter of logistics.

I can continue to budget my way, he can budget his.  I have enough insight into his finances that I know he’s doing fine, and he obviously knows in gory detail what is going on here.  As our lives change, I expect more things to merge together, but I’m not going to change things that are working without a clear reason.

However, the first financial change we decided to make as a couple was to raise my rent.  We’re raising  my portion from $900 to $1000 (and reducing his to $600), and  he’ll start putting $200 monthly in his Roth IRA.  His income is not as regular as mine, so we still plan to max it out eventually — but this should help with the “OMG, it’s April 12th and I have to put $5000 away in the next 3 days!?!”   And take advantage of dollar cost averaging and get his money working for him more quickly.

[For non-regular readers, T is still in school and makes significantly less than me for the time being.  He should be done in about a year and a half and then will have slightly more earning potential than me.]

This will cut into my savings (the car fund in particular), and will put me further from my savings goals in general, which were incredibly optimistic in the first place.  But a new car is not nearly as important as investing in our retirement.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 8:22 am

    that sounds very responsible of you!

    Way to show your readers how couples make it work!

  2. Zade permalink
    May 6, 2010 10:53 am

    HI SP, I’m a regular reader of your blog, and while my question doesnt relate to your post, it is sort of related to PF. I am curious as to how you decided to get the Canon G11. I’m shopping for cameras and I have a regular Canon point and shoot (3yr old camera), and I want something better so I’ve been looking at the Canon S90 and the G11. Any thoughts? How do you like yours?

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday Challenge Reporting (and link love) | A Gai Shan Life

Leave a Reply

