Skip to content

April spending brings May savings

May 6, 2010

The first four months of 2010 have generally turned out to be one budgetary disaster after another.

Everything was somewhat wedding related and not all together unexpected, but we also spent significantly more on eating out, entertainment and uh, clothing.  Because I needed a wedding-y cardigan for the outdoor dinner, just in case!  Because I needed a two three cute summer dresses for the welcome BBQ (and uh, another cardigan to match said dresses).  Also, a mani/pedi, eyebrows, and a facial (uh…) were very  necessary.  We were too busy/stressed to cook, grocery shop, or do pretty much anything (we seriously considered having our laundry done for us one week).

But suddenly, I’m not stressed about anything!  I have energy!  I have rediscovered an interest in watching spending and saving money.  I’m ready to return to my more frugal roots.

And I better be, because last weekend we spent $100 on a tappas dinner for four (plus we’d brought our own wine – no corkage). With that, I give you a snapshot of my budget for this month — look I’m tracking my spending as it happens again (except I have spent some groceries I haven’t entered)!

Nothing to note, but the many categories ( Travel, car, big dreams, gifts…) are allocations for savings funds if I don’t need to spend in the category for the month.  This helps me to smooth out my savings for months when I do have large predictable expenses.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Ima McLamey permalink
    May 6, 2010 8:47 pm

    $100 on Tapas! OMFG!

    • May 6, 2010 9:00 pm

      $25/per person! My husband decided we’d pay for everyone…

  2. May 7, 2010 3:38 am

    Not to excuse reckless spending, but I really think that it’s okay to go a little off when you’re in the middle of wedding planning. No one wants a bride to nickel and dime everything… sometimes you have to just let it go and plan to catch up on the budget after the wedding (obviously what you are doing now!). It can be equally stressful and so much fun having family and friends together before the wedding helping with everything and that usually includes last minute purchases in a rush and lots of eating out. But hey you only get married once! 🙂

  3. Ginessa permalink
    May 7, 2010 10:38 am

    I agree with the above. Hey, at least you had fun! 🙂
    Also, I had a question. How you you track you spending for certain categories, such as eating out?
    Thanks!

    • May 9, 2010 4:15 pm

      I just enter it every couple days — and if I can’t remember how much something was, I wait for it to appear on a statement and enter it then. I also just manually label my transactions.

      Joint expenses that are paid with our joint card are divided by 2, because we split that for now.

  4. Jenna permalink
    May 10, 2010 9:51 am

    Just out of curiosity – why do you need three summer dresses for weddings?

    • May 10, 2010 7:30 pm

      Of course I didn’t need them at all! 🙂

      I did need ONE to wear to the welcome BBQ we hosted for our wedding. I wanted an additional one to wear around and on the mini-honeymoon. The third one was pure nonsense – no reason for it other than I liked it and it was not expensive.

Leave a Reply

