Skip to content

WanderList

May 11, 2010

I hope to add to this list as quickly as I cross things off — we’ll never be done!

Since I live in the USA, I want to see our beautiful nation.  There’s also a heavy focus on trips that are in California.  This is mostly because I hear more about these places than other amazing spots throughout the US – feel free to share some local gems of your own!

USA
Hiking around Lake Tahoe
Half Dome + the rest of yosemite
Catalina Island
Rim to rim trail in the grand canyon
Boundary Waters Canoe trip in Minnesota
Run the Big Sur Marathon
San Bernadino Divide (9 peaks in one trip, I think!)
Central coast wine country with T
Havasu Canyon
Natural hot springs in sespe wilderness area

World Wide
Wander through the french alps (in summer, hut to hut – no hard core stuff!)
Climb Mount Kilimanjaro
Go island hopping in the Greek Isles
Hike the Inca Trail
Venice, Italy
Cinque Terre, Italy
Hike in Patagonia
Visit India
See the egyptian pyramids

Favorite travel memories I’ve already done!
Stay up all night clubbing in Hong Kong
Walk the Great Wall
Hiked Mount Hua Shan overnight to watch the sunrise (a bit of a fail on the sunrise goal)
Ride elephants in Thailand
Chili crab in Signapore
Shoot a blowdart in the Malaysian jungle
Stayed at Sneaked into 5 star resort pools on Bali beeches
Hike Rae Lakes Loop (Kings Canyon, California)
Sixth street on Halloween in Austin
See cirque du soleil in Vegas
Survived a thunderstorm camping at the Grand Canyon
Be a tourist NYC (several times — it was my first big US trip with T)

I don’t really do cost estimates until the trip is in the foreseeable future, and most of my past travels were before I kept much for financial records.  And I’m kind of glad.  I don’t want to know how much some of that fun cost!

Do you keep a WanderList?  Or do you have a more detailed plan?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2010 9:32 pm

    I also want to explore California is more depth… I would like to do along-the-coast trip from San Diego to LA, Santa Barbara, Saint Ynez Valley, SF, Big Sur & Yosemite.

  2. May 11, 2010 9:42 pm

    Wow, you sure have done a lot of travelling already!

    I have a list of places to visit, like you. And similarly, I want to see more of my own country before venturing overseas as well.

    • May 12, 2010 12:22 pm

      Mostly in one burst on study abroad! Now that I have the money to travel, I’m tied down with a real job 🙂

  3. May 12, 2010 4:53 am

    I sort of hate traveling (so stressful! and so much pressure to see everything!), but I usually get a desire to travel to certain places. I’d love to go on an Alaskan cruise, I’d have fun hiking in Hawaii. I feel very uncomfortable going to a country where I don’t speak the language, especially one that’s not really accomodating of ignorant Americans (like me!).

    • May 12, 2010 12:25 pm

      I kind of love the feeling of going somewhere new and not knowing quite how to get around or what to do, or what’s going to happen (as long as I don’t fear for my safety that is). I love the challenge and excitement — it feeds me adrenaline!

  4. Bonnie permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:57 am

    I’m more interested in the US of A lately for travel, too. I still want to revisit the UK, and I’d love to go to Italy and some other European countries, but there is so much to see in the US (and Canada, for that matter) that I haven’t seen–primarily the Pacific Northwest and Northern California. And the Southwest (I’ve only been to Vegas and the Grand Canyon). And…well, you get the idea.

    • May 12, 2010 12:26 pm

      Exactly! We have even talked about postponing our fall trip and just traveling around here. But there is something about international travel that really pushes you out of your comfort zone. I love that.

  5. June 9, 2010 7:44 am

    That sounds like my own goal for travel. I’d love to see Europe and go outside the country, but before I do, I’d like to visit our nation’s must-see monuments, natural wonders and tourist traps. Good luck on your list! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Wonders of the World « Stacking Pennies
  2. My married budget and federal direct loans |

Leave a Reply

