Skip to content

Wedding Wrap-up

May 17, 2010

Today, we have been married one month!

Via A Los Angeles Love (which I started reading too late to help with my L.A. specific issues, particularly the “I want a backyard wedding but I have no backyard!” issue) I share this quote:

I know most people don’t equate getting married with freedom, but when I woke up on my wedding day that’s what I felt. It was the happiest day of my life – partially because I was getting married and partially because the wedding planning was finally over.

Now that a month has passed, the gifts are put away, the thank you notes have been written… life is calm again.  People ask me how married life is, and I tell the truth.  We’ve been living together for a year prior, so not all together different, but I definitely love it!  The biggest difference so far is that I don’t have to plan a wedding anymore.  Our life belongs solely to us again.  We’re free!

I’m also free from the well-intentioned (I hope) questions that made my head explode.

“But don’t you think that you need a best man and maid of honor?  So they know their duties?” Our small bridal party just had bridesmaid/groomsman titles.  It was fine!

“But what about the rehearsal?  How will the ring bearer/flower girl know what to do?” We’ll tell them!  We had no rehearsal and it was fine.  My flower girl forgot her shoes and was barefoot, and that was fine too.

And my personal favorite: “Are you going to go tanning, or just get a spray tan?” !!!!  I know it is normal to tan for your wedding, but I’m not a tan person, and I think I will just be the color I really am, and I have no time to lay on the beach.  And guess what?  I was still gorgeous!  😉

Several personal finance bloggers are in various stages of wedding planning.  Now would be a helpful time for me to pass on any hints and tips.  But I don’t really have any, except the stuff you already know, or that you can find on entire blogs devoted solely to weddings.  (Beware, it’s a crazy world over there!  But read A Practical Wedding and you’ll be ok.)

So I will tell you this:  Good luck, and have fun!  But also —  it’s not always fun, and if you are like me, it is actually quite rarely fun.  Except for the day itself — that day is really really fun!  And it is worth it — all we could talk about for days was how well everything turned out and how happy we were.

And the stuff after is really fun too.  The mini-moon we took, and a whole summer stretching ahead of us full of fun fun plans.  Talks of what we want to do after his grad school is over (because I see a light at the end of the tunnel).  Getting used to “husband” and “wife” and trying to get used to my name change.  Looking at wedding photos as they come in and booking tickets to visit his family.  Fun.

We’re free!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2010 9:31 am

    Oh, I cannot WAIT to be done with wedding planning! I am so looking forward to our lives going back to normal.

  2. May 17, 2010 10:01 am

    I’m with you and LMM, with five and a half months to go, I’m ready to get this show on the road and be done with the wedding planning so we can get our life back (and go on our honeymoon)! 🙂

  3. May 17, 2010 11:57 am

    So glad you made the comment about not having a maid of honor. I don’t want to have one and think its perfectly fine just to have everyone on a level playing field.

  4. May 18, 2010 11:19 am

    Assuming you got married April 17 we share a wedding date, and I feel the same way. I simplified/ignored a number of wedding traditions/conventions but still felt like all I did was plan the wedding. But the day was fantastic, married life is great, and now I know I never have to do that again. 🙂

  5. May 19, 2010 3:08 pm

    Ha! I love the bit about getting a spray on tan. I got asked about tanning no less than five times. I told everyone I wanted to look like myself, not a Barbie’ed version of myself. And I was absolutely terrified of having a spray-on tan. Too many variables there. Good for you for being your naturally gorgeous self. 😉

Leave a Reply

