Skip to content

Training for my first half

May 19, 2010

It’s official – we are training for a half marathon!  T is doing it with me, which is a surprise since running is not his favorite form of athletics, but fun.

I took Hal Higdon’s intermediate plan and modified it slightly for our travel schedule, removed the 15k, and moved the 10k to a weekend where it actually existed.  Two of the weekend long runs are replaced with hiking trips.  Because I doubt we’ll be doing a long run after a 10-12 mile backpack.

This is my first time experimenting with speed work long term – I’ve done some intervals here and there and some speed play in normal runs, but I’ve never followed a prescribed program with regular speed work.

Yesterday was our first running day, just 3 miles.  Since i haven’t run in so long, I think I took it too hard.  I’m basically pretty slow, but the point of Tuesday/Thursday runs isn’t speed, and I shouldn’t push myself on those days.

I also discovered I donated my ipod armband for my 1st gen nano!   Somehow it got mixed in with the goodwill stuff.  I’m thinking of getting a hydration belt with a pouch and using that to hold my things. What do you all think?  Do you use them for longer runs, or do you just stop by water foutains strategically placed on your route.

All in all, this half-marathon stuff will cost about $150 for registration and supplies, assuming I don’t need new shoes (I shouldn’t).  Not counting travel and hotel if we drive — but that is travel and should be fun!

The other good thing is we’ll be in super shape for all our hiking plans, and especially for our big trip to Switzerland, where we’ll be doing some more hiking!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2010 2:06 pm

    So Exciting! I’m running my first 1/2 on June 6 . . . I haven’t blogged about it at all but I’m doing the Hal Higdon’s Half Marathon Training as well . . . only for the novice. This weekend is 9 miles for me! 🙂

    I’m not a professional runner or anything but I found that stopping at water fountains along my route has worked really well. I haven’t tried the hydration belts but I didn’t think I’d like running with water sloshing around my mid section.

    You will do great!

    • SP permalink*
      May 19, 2010 2:51 pm

      I don’t like running with my ipod in my hand the whole time, so i was thinking a belt that could use water would be dual purpose. but I suspect on most days I wouldn’t need to carry water. I see a full marathon in my future, so I’m thinking ahead.

      I think the idea is that a well designed hydration belt wouldn’t slosh around — but who knows if they live up to the claim!

      I already own a 3L camelback for hiking, but it seems way too bulky for running

  2. May 19, 2010 2:18 pm

    How fun! When I trained for my half, I didn’t use a hydration belt. For my longer training runs I relied on my hand held Nathan bottle. It came with a pouch, where I would put some sports beans. I didn’t find it annoying at the time, but now that I think about it, I wouldn’t like to do that again. During the actual half, I relied on water handed out at water stops. I bought an iFitness belt, but have yet to use it!

  3. May 20, 2010 7:27 am

    I personally wouldn’t want to be limited to routes with accessible water fountains, so I’d go for the hydration belt. (Then again I’ve never run more than 4 miles at a time.) They usually have pretty small bottles, so I would imagine the slosh isn’t that bad. Plus I like that they actually have a place for you to put stuff….like a key and ID.

    • SP permalink*
      May 20, 2010 8:09 am

      I know — running shorts have zero pockets!

  4. May 20, 2010 1:41 pm

    Congrats!!! I did my first half almost 4 years ago and did a full last summer. Now I’m signed up for 2 this fall..however I suck at training, so please let me know if you want to be accountability buddies! I love Hal Hidgon’s plans!

  5. May 21, 2010 7:44 am

    I love reading about others journey to do a half or full marathon. I have done 3 halfs and 1 full. Just started training for the disney wine & dine in october.

    Hydration belts are not my friend because of the way my body is shaped. They do not stay in place. Running with a water bottle is not something I do unless it is really hot outside and I am on a long run.

    Durning the week my runs are 2-4 miles, so I just use water fountains unless I am at the track. At the track/gym it is convenient to have a water bottle handy. For Saturday long runs I meet up with the local Team-in-Training team (I am an alumni) because they supply water stops. You may even consider meeting up with local running clubs that you can find out about at yor neighborhood running store.

    Good Luck to all runners this year!

    • May 21, 2010 7:54 am

      Those are really good suggestions!

      I almost never run at the track or a gym, but a local running club might be a good idea.

  6. Amanda permalink
    May 22, 2010 8:58 pm

    I am currently training for my second half. I also used Hal to train. I didn’t use a hydration belt but was also training with 40-60 degree weather at the time. I found it gel packs/sport beans to be more helpful. When I got up to the 8 mile runs I had a water bottle at the half way mark that I used to take the gel pack/get a drink. If you aren’t running a trail where that is possible a hand water bottle or hydration belt might be useful.
    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

