Skip to content

Week 1 of half marathon training

May 24, 2010

My first week of half marathon training went well.  I hadn’t run in over a month, so it was a bit of a shock to the system – but it turned out well.

  • Monday was a stretch/strength day, but since we had nothing to recover from, we did a 30 day shred.  I did not miss Jillian!
  • Tuesday was the first running day, 3 miles easy.
  • Wednesday was speed training, 5×400.  I am not good at speed work as I don’t really know what pace I should be shooting for (I don’t have a “5k pace” yet) and I only run outside anyway.  But it was a nice change
  • Thursday was another 3 miles easy, then a quick strength training circuit, which mostly focused on upper body.
  • Friday was rest day!
  • Saturday was 3 miles.  It was cold and I didn’t go until just before sunset, but it was a pretty god run anyway.
  • Sunday was a miserable 5 miles.  The 5 miles actually felt pretty easy, but it was super super windy out, and going north was painful.  I think my skin was exfoliated by all the sand.  My shoes got a bunch of sand blown in them.  But I did it!  I hope next weekend is less windy and chilly!

Also, can you help? I spent a good chunk of Sunday fighting with my Garmin Forerunner 305.  I can’t get it to sync up with my computer anymore.  T and I are both pretty tech savvy and both of us wanted to throw the thing through the window.  Does anyone who has one know whether it is supposed make some sort of noise or connection when you attach the cradle via USB without the garmin in it???  Let me know.   My husband volunteered to call tech support this week.  I deleted a weeks worth of data, and it still didn’t work!  It should still be under warranty at least.

(photo)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2010 7:37 am

    Congrats on the first week! It looks like you did awesome! Keep it up 🙂

  2. May 24, 2010 9:07 am

    Are you planning on doing any core work? I’ve heard from the runners I know that when you get into longer distances your core becomes much more important! (and I could see how that could be true….)

    Good luck with Week 2!

    • SP permalink*
      May 24, 2010 9:13 am

      I’m doing strength 2x a week, which includes a little core work, but maybe I should increase the amount of core work. I’ll definitely look into it. Thanks for the suggestion!

  3. May 24, 2010 12:37 pm

    Nice job on the training!!

  4. May 28, 2010 10:48 am

    Good luck on training! I’m running another FULL in Oct! AHH!! I’m kicking off my training in June..

    • SP permalink*
      May 28, 2010 11:31 am

      Good luck! I think I’m going to do my first full next year!

  5. El Cheapo permalink
    May 29, 2010 12:56 pm

    re: Garmin Forerunner

    SP, first off I’ve always had great support from Garmin re: their GPS units, even ones that were out of warranty. I’m sure it would be the same for the 305, which appears to be a cool personal training unit as well. I would suggest, if this is a new unit, to also register online. My other suggestion (gosh, I’m full of suggestions aren’t I?) would be to download any available software updates for this unit. It looks like there is a USB driver, chipset, and device driver update available online from Garmin. It wouldn’t hurt to D/L these, especially since it can serve to flash the unit.

    Lastly, my question would be if the device is being detected by your PC. More times than not, USB devices (cradles, USB flash drives, etc.) are plug-n-play and the PC will make a sound when a device is first connected. Also, their should be a prompt in the system icon tray. If neither of these are showing up, perhaps the PC (not the software or 305 unit) is the source of the problem. The next step would be to try to synch the unit and see what appears in the Device Manager (under Windows Control Panel).

    Good luck with the training SP!

    • May 31, 2010 9:10 am

      Thanks! I did end up calling support last week. I only hesitated because I usually am at work during the hours.

      The device was having issues being detected by the PC itself (it detected it with errors) so updating the chipset wasn’t possible. We tried it on both our computers, then on a windows XP machine in case our OS was the problem.

      I also was impressed with the tech support, as she didn’t treat me like a moron (much) like tech support so often does (“did you try restarting?” or “did you try another USB port?”). Once I said I’d tried it on different PCs, and with different cables, she told me I’d have to send it in. But at least we didn’t waste a lot of time troubleshooting stuff that I’d already done!

      Hopefully it comes back good as new. And soon, I miss it!

Leave a Reply

