Skip to content

What would you wear?

June 4, 2010

I have a graduation to attend (mine!) this summer and I’m trying to decided on an outfit.

T suggests a pencil skirt since I own one and it would look best with the robe, but black pencil skirt screams fall/winter to me.  Any ideas on how to lighten it up for summer?  Preferable with something I already own… I checked my closet and my color pallate is much more dark than light/airy.

Maybe white with the right acessories? Or a muted light pink?  Yellow says “bumble bee” and brighter pink still seems too dark.  What do you think?  I might be able to purchase an (inexpensive and useful) top if needed.

I do have other more summery dresses I could wear – should I give up on the pencil skirt idea?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Pam permalink
    June 4, 2010 7:42 am

    I manage graduation at the University at which I am employed. Most of what you wear will not show under your gown. Black, moderate heels are best for footwear. If you are wearing something that will hand lower than the gown, black is best. Depending upon the location, you will want to wear cool clothing, as those gowns get hot! Your neckline will also depend upon whether or not there is a “hooding” ceremony. If you are having a hood placed, you will not want a collar showing. Hope this helps!

    • Pam permalink
      June 4, 2010 7:43 am

      I meant “hang” lower than your gown!

    • June 4, 2010 9:25 am

      I know it won’t show, but I also plan on taking other pictures without the robe (probably), which is the reason I’m thinking about it.

      I agree about black shoes, which also sort of why I am not sure about my favorite summer dresses – black shoes won’t look quite right!

  2. June 4, 2010 8:04 am

    Definitely a dress! But I don’t own a pencil skirt. It’s summer and I love dresses 🙂

  3. Janet permalink
    June 4, 2010 9:23 am

    I would like more information about the graduation to be able to comment. Is it during the day or at night? Inside or outside? Are you planning to take a lot of pictures of you. Do other people see you or are you essentially just “one of the masses”? It just seems that any of the options could work, depending on the details.

    • June 4, 2010 9:27 am

      “A lot of pictures”, not really. But probably some since my parents will be there. Yay! In reality most of them will probably be in the gown anyway, but that doesn’t mean I don’t want to think about the rest of the outfit.

      It is in the day, inside. I know this isn’t a really important question – but I am trying to avoid buying another dress. 🙂

  4. June 4, 2010 9:30 am

    I tried something new the other day….I wore a pencil skirt OVER one of my summery dresses. It sounds crazy, but it worked out and it looked great! The only problem is it will definitely make you warmer than just a skirt or just a dress.

  5. sipote permalink
    June 4, 2010 9:33 am

    pencil skirts always look hot on women!…how about a light white top…black high heels!…caliente!

  6. June 4, 2010 11:30 am

    Go for a dress! And don’t go for boring black shoes. Wear your nicest heels!

  7. June 4, 2010 1:00 pm

    A pencil skirt does not have to scream fall/winter. Choose a light grey color and pair it with a beautiful pale pink blouse and some black accessories to tie in the black heels and you’ll look professional yet summer-y. and BTW CONGRATULATION!!!!!

  8. Karen permalink
    June 4, 2010 4:26 pm

    I think white/black might be a little formal or wait-staff like so I would wear the light pink. But then I guess it would depend on the accessories. Which I don’t wear so can’t comment on that 🙂

    • June 4, 2010 6:35 pm

      Yes! Thank you – i think i prefer the look in the second link.

      I don’t have quite the right top, but I think buying a top is much more practical than buying a dress or dress shoes, as I wear tops every single day.

  9. June 5, 2010 6:41 am

    I like the idea of wearing it with bright shoes, a paler coloured top & bright accessories

Leave a Reply

