Skip to content

Week 3 of Half Marathon Training

June 7, 2010

Monday:  Well… the schedule had hiking, but it turned out to be a recover from hiking day.  I was super sore!  Plus, beach time!
Tuesday:  3.5 mile run
Wednesday:  Speed work, 6×400’s.
Thursday:  Rest (unplanned – had 3 miles on the plan!)
Friday:  Rest (planned)
Saturday:  3 mile.  This was supposed to be a “pace” run, but my Garmin is in for repairs, so… it was more just a run
Sunday:  6 mile run!  My longest in awhile.  T ran the first 5 with me (his plan only called for 5 miles) because I was worried I might get kidnapped.  It turns out my fears were baseless – there were still plenty of people out and about at 7 pm.

Speed work is pretty new to me, so I don’t know if I”m doing it right, but it is definitely a challenge each week.  Running five days a week has been hard, both schedule wise and energy level wise, but I’m going to keep with it.

We’re doing a 10k in about two weeks, which will give me a better idea of my “race pace”.  It seems like speed work would be more effective on treadmills, but I refuse to run on a treadmill until it gets too dark to run outside at night.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2010 10:18 am

    You are doing great! I’m with you on running outside instead of a treadmill whenever possible. Treadmill running is so boring for me – even with a great running sound track on my ipod!

    I didn’t do speed work for my first half but I wish I had. I’m trying to decide what race to enter next – I’m definitely hooked on running!

  2. June 8, 2010 8:02 pm

    Ugh, treadmills are the worst. When it was really snowy and we were training, the treadmill was my only option and it was so boring. I tried everything – I even put a movie on my iPod and tried to watch it to distract myself. Now, even if it’s 80 degrees out, I run outside.

    Instead of speed work, you could always try hills? There is a park in Manhattan Beach that has a bunch of sand dunes. I knew people who would always go running there after work.

Leave a Reply

