Skip to content

SP + T (or… wedding photos!)

June 11, 2010

The thing I hate most about doing this as an anonymous blogger is that I’m mostly restricted to details.  And I’m not a details person.  Not to say I didn’t have and love my details, but I love love love seeing people pictures, full of fun and joy.  But.  Instead you get details.

The dress.  I erased our names, which were written into the hanger.  If you have a close friend getting married, I think this would make a fabulous gift!  (But uh, I bought mine for myself!)

Shoes: This one is included as sort of a joke.  Every blogoriffic wedding has fancy shoe shots.  These are my $30 ballet flats (I didn’t go with colored – it just wasn’t cute in flats, and my dress wasn’t long enough for heels).  And you know, I had cheap shoes, and I still had a great wedding day.  Just sayin’.

Me, in dress. We have a lot of photos of lacing it up, because it took forever!

My bouquet… and some shadowy bride and groom in the background!  Honestly, I wanted all cream peonies and didn’t really care for the greens at all.  I was tempted to pluck them out, but was worried about causing more harm than good.

The bridesmaid bouquets.  Very pretty, but I wanted bright pink.  All in all, I wasn’t that happy with our ceremony flowers, but they also were not expensive so…

Flowers again: I was really happy with the centerpieces – someone else did them.  Just realized our pro photographer didn’t shoot them, so I just have a snapshot!

We’re getting married!

Cake, wine and food (I cannot identify it, but I’m sure it was delicious).  The cake was also really really amazing.

Rings: Since this is a pf blog, I feel a little silly showing a picture of our non-frugal rings.  Yet I’m doing it anyway, because I really like them

You are lucky you aren’t friends with me in real life, or I’d subject you to all the 1000+ photos we got!

If you didn’t see it, Girl With The Red Balloon posted her wedding anonymously this week too!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2010 6:28 am

    Ha! I plan to wear cheap flats too. Who wants to get married on the grass in spike heels?

  2. June 11, 2010 6:30 am

    I started listing all the different things I love in this post and decided I could leave a much shorter comment by saying that I love everything about it!

  3. June 11, 2010 6:48 am

    Thanks for the mention! Your photos are gorgeous! I especially loved the shot of the flowers with you and the groom in the background. 🙂 I was so obsessed with my own bouquet that I find the perfect one online, wrote down all the pieces in it and handed that to the florist. They copied it very well. 🙂

    • June 11, 2010 7:23 am

      You know, I found one online and gave her the picture — but they just did not do a good job of copying it, and determined that some greens should be added. I thought that was annoying, but oh well!

  4. June 11, 2010 8:56 am

    Oh wow everything was so gorgeous! Thanks for sharing.

  5. June 11, 2010 9:18 am

    Hi — I have been reading your blog for a while but I don’t think that I’ve ever commented. This post forced me out of lurkdom. I love your dress and I love love love your bouquet! (I know you said that you weren’t sure about the green but I think it adds a really nice contrast.)

    I am planning a similarly sized wedding for next year (hopefully around 50-60 people), and I was hoping that you could provide a little bit more detail about how your dance-free reception went. My fiance and I are not dancers, and I want to forgo tossing the bouquet and other rituals, so we are planning have pre-dinner cocktails for 90 minutes, then dinner, then re-open the bar for another 1 1/2 or 2 1/2 hours. Did you find that without dancing, people were still inclined to stay after dinner and socialize? I would rather just have a longer cocktail hour, if not. I’ve never been to a reception without dancing so any insight you an offer would be really appreciated! Thanks!

    • June 14, 2010 5:41 pm

      Hi! I answered your question in a full post scheduled for tomorrow. I hope it helps, and that other readers can chime in with anything they have to share too!

      Thanks for the comment!

      • June 14, 2010 5:43 pm

        Thanks so much, I can’t wait!

  6. Carrie permalink
    June 11, 2010 9:30 am

    I’m obsessed with wedding stuff now that I’m planning my own…:) So I loved this post! and I LOVE your dress! Where’d you get it. I’m not sure what I want to do about shoes. I’m considering those new strappy flat sandals that are in style because I don’t want to wear heels either!

    • SP permalink*
      June 11, 2010 11:38 am

      Shoes were a huge pain in the butt, actually! I couldn’t find any flat strappy sandals that I liked that were in (light) ivory or dyeable – but you might have more luck! As far as actual “bridal” shoes go, most of the flats I saw looked like the could have been worn by a 13 year old. Not sophisticated. (Not that ballet flats are that posh, but at least I didn’t hate them.)

      The dress I got in my hometown in the midwest — it was actually designed by the bridal shop owners. I tried on several more casual beach-y dresses, and a couple super poufy ones, but for the type of wedding we had, this one was PERFECT. Except, I should have ordered extra length. But oh well.

      Also, the only alteration I needed was a bustle – perfect!

  7. June 11, 2010 11:38 am

    Love your dress! So pretty 🙂

  8. June 11, 2010 2:25 pm

    Awww I wanna see the 1000+ photos. This was just a teaser right?? Love the dress and pictures! Love your colours too, so pretty 🙂

  9. notsopettycash permalink
    June 11, 2010 3:53 pm

    Your photos are gorgeous! Thank you so much for sharing them 🙂

  10. June 11, 2010 6:28 pm

    Gorgeous rings!

    I hate heels, but I now know it’s okay to wear flats on the big day 🙂

  11. June 13, 2010 4:29 pm

    Everything’s so pretty! I’m glad the day went off as well as it did, and that’s SUCH a cute cake!

  12. June 14, 2010 4:49 pm

    The pictures are fantastic! Also, I will definitely take your suggestion about the hanger! What a GREAT idea!

Trackbacks

  1. My dance-free wedding reception « Stacking Pennies
  2. Revised 2010 Goals & Progess « Stacking Pennies
  3. Money in my 20s « Stacking Pennies
  4. Anniversary Showcase Showdown « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

