Skip to content

Half marathon training temporarily derailed

June 15, 2010

I did run 4 times last week, but a couple of them were more run/walks since my dad offered to go with me.

I have a 10k coming up, and I can no doubt finish it (but maybe not with a great time), and I hope to get things back on track this week and next.

The problem is I am just SO tired and sleepy, even when I think I get enough sleep. This happens even when i take a 2 day break from running.  This happens even after a run, when I should feel energized.

I’m thinking it might be something missing in my diet  – any suggestions?

Or maybe I’m just not getting as much sleep as I thought.  I am just at a loss.  I didn’t set an alarm this morning and woke up naturally around 7 a.m.  Yet I was drowsy off and on all day and when I arrived home, I really couldn’t imagine getting out and running.

I know sometimes I need to make myself power through it, but I also want to listen to my body.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2010 6:29 pm

    Usually I just lurk here, but I wanted to mention that when I had similar issues of being tired all the time (and it also felt like my brain was foggy), it turned out that I was dehydrated. I was drinking plenty of water, so I didn’t suspect it, but I was sweating a ton and not replacing electrolytes. A few sports drinks and I immediately started feeling better.

    • June 15, 2010 6:47 pm

      Hmmm… good idea. I drink lots of water and I don’t (think I) sweat a lot, but I’ll definitely try this. Thanks for chiming in – i really appreciate any suggestions!

  2. June 15, 2010 6:35 pm

    You’re not pregnant, are you? I know that fatigue is common in the first trimester.

    If it’s not that, it could be a vitamin deficiency, so try taking a daily multvitamin. It could also be an issue with sleeping – a lot of times there can be something that constantly wakes you up – a breathing problem, for example – and keeps you from getting good sleep. Ask T if you’ve been snoring or making noises in your sleep. Narcolepsy is also a possibility, although I think it usually develops earlier than this and I’m sure you would have noticed.

    • June 15, 2010 6:45 pm

      Definitely not pregnant!

      The multivitamin is a good idea, but every time I decide to start taking one, I start hearing about how they are ineffective and possibly bad for you if not made properly (since they are unregulated). But it is probably worth trying at this point.

      • Rini permalink
        June 16, 2010 10:12 am

        Flintstones work best for me – the kiddie chewable ones… I tried various “made for women” alternatives, and most of them just made me nauseated…

  3. Elizabeth permalink
    June 15, 2010 6:55 pm

    I had the same problem! It took my body about 3 months to get used to running as much as my schedule required. Iron, better hydration, and more carbs helped me…and coffee in the mornings 🙂

    Also, make sure you’re eating/drinking some recovery fuel after any workout that’s either intense or longer than 30 minutes. I thought it was all hokum, but it helps! I usually have a smoothie (1/2 banana, a scoop of protein powder, and two handfuls of spinach or kale) or some yogurt and granola within an hour after my workout.

    • August 21, 2010 8:31 pm

      I just wanted to come back and say thanks for this advice — this time around I have been trying really hard to eat something (usually just peanut butter toast to start) right after I’m done running, and it has made a HUGE difference!

      I might try to add in a smoothie — protein powder recommendations?

  4. Stephanie permalink
    June 15, 2010 7:10 pm

    Sounds like you might be anemic. You can go to the doctor and get a blood test, or you can just eat more iron (red meat and green vegetables).

  5. June 15, 2010 7:20 pm

    I dunno – personally I need my eight hours, and usually get more. My schedule means I don’t have to leave the house till at least 9am, although to be honest I don’t get a lot of time for much aside from work! But after years of deprivation (crazy study/work schedule) I’m enjoying the adequate sleep. Agree with the others – could be dehydration or lack of something like iron. Do you take vitamins?

  6. June 16, 2010 5:43 am

    I’ve never had this problem, but a buddy of mine in college did. He was very active in hockey and intramural leagues of other sports, but was always tired, and often times would sleep for close to 16 hours a day. It ended up being an iron deficiency. He changed his diet a bit to include more iron and started taking an iron supplement, after a few days the problem had gone away.

  7. June 18, 2010 9:20 am

    Could it be diet related? I know if I don’t eat well it usually leads me to feel more fatigued than usual despite having enough sleep. Or, maybe you’re not eating enough? My insurance for feeling peppy and energized is keeping snacks on hand and never letting my blood sugar dip too low. Just a thought!

  8. June 19, 2010 9:49 pm

    Update – so far I think it was lack of iron. I generally eat pretty well, but if anything, I probably might not always eat enough.

    I started taking iron supplements and also trying to keep myself fed well! After about 2-3 days I felt a lot better

Leave a Reply

