Skip to content

Honeymoon Budget

June 18, 2010

Much like my wedding, the honeymoon budget came about by us first deciding what we wanted to do, then determining at what cost we could do it at.  Now that I’ve reached the booking stage, I can more accurately predict what our total cost will be.  All prices are for two people.

Flights:  $2200 (booked)
Hiking Portion (5  nights, 6 days):  $1300 (booked)
Venice 3 nights, 3.5 days:  $460 (booked)
One way train:  $150 (booked)
Geneva (2 nights):  $280 (TBD)
Food and Entertainment:  $900 (TBD)
Other shuttles/buses trains:  $100 (TBD)
Total:  $5390

All of our lodging (except the final morning in geneva before our flight) includes breakfast.  Two dinners are included in the hiking portion.  I’m assuming travel days and hiking days will cost less in spending money than our lovely Venetian vacation, but all in all, I don’t think $900 will be restrictive.  We might even come home with some Euros to spare!  Luckily the exchange rate for euros is relatively high.

Flights: Since we had no date flexibility due to my work schedule, flights really couldn’t be found any cheaper.  This was our biggest budget buster since I thought we’d be able to score them for $800-$900.  Wrong!

Why is hiking so expensive!?!? Ah, good question!  We aren’t backpacking and staying in tents per usual, so this is for accommodations, breakfast, and some dinners.  We are staying in ridiculously cute little hotels and mountain huts along the way.  We definitely did not want to backpack for this, as it is our honeymoon.  This way we also do not have to carry a tent or sleeping bags, saving ourselves at least 12 pounds.  We also did not self-book this part, and I know we paid a premium for it, but these places can’t be booked easily online (the nerve!) and I don’t speak Italian.  Or French.

In the future I would like to put forth the effort to do this ourselves, but for our “first time” we decided to have it all prepared for us.   My estimate is that we paid about $500 extra for this, which probably isn’t worth it in general.  But that is what you get for playing it safe. I expect we’ll do more international hiking type trips in our future, and I expect we’ll self-book those.

This is by far the most expensive trip I’ve ever planned.  Most of my travels have been in cheaper parts of the world and on a tighter budget (more hostels, less nice lodging).  This is the first international trip we’ve planned since graduating college, and our first time in Europe together.  Next year we’ll focus on California based adventures, because california is beautiful and I have a long list of places I want to see.  It will also be much much cheaper!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2010 11:46 am

    I’m so excited to hear about your honeymoon and mostly the hiking part! BF and I want to do a big hike for our honeymoon too – thinking about Kilimanjaro, but yeah. Guided hikes & in mountain huts are for sure way more expensive than going it alone. But both have their pluses and minuses, and for your honeymoon it’ll be nice to sleep in real huts and not have to lug around all that extra weight.

    • SP permalink*
      June 18, 2010 12:07 pm

      I’m really excited for that part too – it is what the whole trip was based on, venice was more just an (expensive!) ad-on. Kilimanjaro is probably not all that much more expensive, even though I think it is required to be guided. I hope to do that someday, but it is at least 2 years out!

      Our hike isn’t guided, just our accommodations were pre-booked for us. A true guided hike was even more (and I generally avoid guided stuff if i can). I thought the mountain hotels/huts were such a neat idea and it seems to be something very common in europe! I’m really excited to walk through the countryside!

  2. Dr.Blue permalink
    June 18, 2010 5:38 pm

    suxer! when is the divorcing coming? spend spend!

  3. June 18, 2010 7:51 pm

    Ahhhhh, this sounds like so much fun!

  4. June 20, 2010 10:55 pm

    They do that alot it Europe. We’ve got a couple of similar hikes in Australia with little B@B’s. It doesn’t really seem fun to me unless you’re a little smell and dirty though

  5. June 21, 2010 7:27 am

    Yeah, I totally can see why some people wouldn’t think it is fun — but I think it would be much more fun (for me and for T) than relaxing on the beach for a week. That’s just what we like to do.

Leave a Reply

