Skip to content

Bored of money

June 22, 2010

I’m bored of money lately.

I know where I want my money to go each month.  My savings are largely automated.   Sometimes something comes along that doesn’t quite fit into the budget, and I adjust it.  I have my priorities.  After this years crazy wedding/travels, I’ll start paying a little more attention to the car fund again.

Until T graduates, we have no idea what (if ever) our time line is for a house or if we’ll stay here in Cali for years and years.  While I have some vague idea of a time line for kids (not soon), I really don’t need to do anything to prepare for that except save what I can now and enjoy what I can now.

All that is left to blog about is stuff that I buy, which is either not exciting (hey, got some laundry soap yesterday!) or only serves to encourage others to want to spend (don’t you want a trip to Europe too?!).

I don’t struggle with my budget, mostly because I have relaxed it enough that I don’t want for anything.  That doesn’t mean I splurge on everything, but I’m not constantly denying myself either.   Frugality is a habit that I (mostly) practice, but it isn’t a fun little game anymore.  It just isn’t.

So, what to do?

Don’t worry, I’m not shutting down the blog or even switching the focus.  I’m just doing what this blog is meant for:  sharing how I feel right now, and wondering if any of you feel the same way too sometimes.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2010 6:29 am

    I know what you mean. Once things are under control, it’s tough to consistantly find stuff to write about. That’s where I am right now too!

  2. June 22, 2010 7:32 am

    I felt that way too after we got rid of our credit card debt. Things were all automated and going along without issue. New goals were the only thing that got me out of that feeling. Oh, and having our little girl helped to spice things up as well!

  3. June 23, 2010 8:41 am

    My husband and I often comment that it was easier when we were deeply in debt, there was a clear goal we were striving for. It’s also harder to keep up with frugality, every month we have money “left over”, so there is no challenge to keep up with coupons or the drug store game.

    But all things considered, it’s not a bad place to be. 🙂

  4. Bonnie permalink
    June 23, 2010 12:30 pm

    I think an interesting post would be the pros and cons of staying in California long-term vs. moving back to the Midwest (or wherever else your other living options/dreams might be).

    You don’t always have to write about money. The other ares of your life are interesting!

    • SP permalink*
      June 23, 2010 2:29 pm

      I’m kind of bored of the other areas too. 😉

      Thanks for the post idea, I will definitely do that!

  5. June 26, 2010 5:21 pm

    Totally feel that way at times. Kind of do right now – which is why I’m passively refusing to deal with some money decisions like commute and retirement related stuff.

    And yes! I’d like a trip to Europe too!

    Actually PiC’s friends just started brainstorming a trip to Greece and want us to join them in either April or May of next year …. wonder if I’d have enough money and vacation time by then?

  6. July 3, 2010 7:46 am

    Yep. Feeling bored. So now I’m gonna spend it 😛

    I think we all get into these lulls occasionally.. but I’d rather have a lull than being intensely obsessed with my debt

Leave a Reply

