Skip to content

Summer Fun!

June 28, 2010

Where has the first half of 2010 gone?!?

I feel like it was just yesterday that the year started out (a nice vacay in Palm Springs), but in 6 short months, there’s been a whirlwind of activity.  Wedding planning, wedding having, graduation ceremonies, vacation planning, work, school, running and LIFE.

It has felt like summer for several weeks now.  Anyone who claims the love living in a place with all four seasons might not realize the totally different  “summer time ” vibe that descends on the beaches in L.A. in the summer.  I definitely feel the shift!

We had a mostly relaxing weekend – out drinking and dancing at the local hot spots on Friday, relaxing/recovering Saturday, then going beach and making homemade lemonade Sunday.  Followed by the latest season of Dexter – I waited for the legally available episodes and I’m sure we’ll get through the season quickly!

This weekend kicks off a what I anticipate to be a whole summer of fun.  It’s our second attempt at a big hiking trip.  I got my boot soles reglued and I’m ready to go – did I tell you that they MELTED OFF (partially) on our hot hot desert hike attempt/failure?  After that, we have a trip to the midwest, a mid-summer backpacking adventure in one of my favorite california areas, then it’s all about the big vacation abroad.  Not to mention it is going to be a busy and (hopefully) exciting time at work.

Forth of July always has felt like the true start of summer ever since I graduated college and no longer marked the last day of school as summer.  What about you?  Are you excited for the summer ahead?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2010 11:55 am

    The last season of Dexter was soo good! Gave me chills!

    I know what you mean about the summertime vibe… About a million people descend on the beaches along with that vibe. :p

    What places around LA would you recommend for a beginner hike?

    • June 28, 2010 6:16 pm

      I must warn you, around L.A. it is my extreme preference to do day hiking in the fall/winter/spring. Or get up early (or maybe late in the day too, since it is light out so late). Backpacking trips are slightly more bearable because of the elevation, but I have a feeling we’ll be pretty hot this weekend anyway.

      My favorite day hike so far was Sandstone Peak (http://www.modernhiker.com/2006/12/18/mishe-mokwa-trail-to-tri-peaks-and-sandstone-peak/), but maybe just a portion of it for a beginner?

      Santa Anita Canyon was also quite nice, but I think the wildfire got to it. Paranoid Asteroid’s suggestion is probably good, I’ve never been though. Also, that Modern Hiker sight has tons of others, including his top picks:http://www.modernhiker.com/la-hiking/

      • June 29, 2010 6:43 pm

        Thanks! 🙂 We’ll have to try Sandstone Peak… and bring lots of water and sunscreen and whatever else to combat the heat. I assume we should buy hiking boots? Any you would recommend?

  2. June 28, 2010 2:25 pm

    Ugh, it has been in the 90s here for a couple of weeks now. That was the one weird thing about California – I always felt like summer started really late compared to what I was used to. I’m already looking forward to fall!

    @ Sunflowers: Chad and I used to always go on a hike on the Crenshaw extension in Palos Verdes. It was an old construction site that got converted into a park. There’s a well-maintained dirt path, and you can go on smaller, more difficult paths if you want more of a challenge.

    • June 28, 2010 6:11 pm

      Agree – I feel like summer just started about 2 weeks ago.

      In the midwest, summer started earlier, and with a vengeance. Spring was still cold, just less so compared to winter. It was HOT by june and didn’t stop until september

    • June 29, 2010 6:44 pm

      That sounds fun! I’ll have to look into that. We’re trying to be more adventurous and outdoorsy… 😉 Anyway, thanks!

  3. June 28, 2010 5:41 pm

    the worst experience I had hiking was when I was doing this 3 day cometative hike for scouts, the dropped us off in the middle of nowhere with a map and a compass and we had to find our way back in a team. first back won. It pored down for 3 days, and on the 1 night I was trying to dry my boots out over the fire and turned around to do something and when I turned back they were ON FIRE!!! I grabbed them and put them in a puddle to put them out, so I finished the hike in wet AND burned shoes, needless to say I felt a little miserable.

    • June 28, 2010 6:17 pm

      Yikes! Sounds awful. The most I’ve done is 4 days, 3 nights (rae lakes loop = gorgeous!), but it is one of my dreams to do a much longer one!

  4. June 28, 2010 5:42 pm

    ps I’m eyeing off a 5 day hike. The most i’ve ever done is 3

Leave a Reply

