Skip to content

New Suit Purchased

July 9, 2010

I found out that I have to give two presentations on two days this month.  They are both relatively short, but I still need to be dressed up two days in a row.  A suit isn’t absolutely required, but the few women that gave presentations at similar meetings wore some sort of suit.  The men wore either suits or just shirts and ties with nice pants. So I feel like it is encouraged, but the bottom line is to look nice and professional.

Given that,  it seemed like a good time to update my wardrobe with a nicer suit that fit well.  The sales BR has been sending me agreed.

  • Suit Jacket:  $55 (on sale from $150, using coupon too)
  • Suit Pants:  $48 (on sale from $80, using coupon)
  • Shipping:  $7 (couldn’t find it free until it was too late)

I might want to visit the tailor for the perfect fit, but the jacket was really close on it’s own.  Coming from someone who has had jackets sewn just for me, that’s saying a lot!  Banana Republic (and most stores) never carry the tall sizes in store, so I had to order online to get the right fit.  But I got it!

Clearly this isn’t some super high end suit, but the material feels nice and it fits quite nice, and it is completely adequate for my industry — all for $110.

My strategy for online ordering is to order more than what I intend to keep, then return the rest.  This goes both for styles and materials.  I know it seems silly, but I like to try things on in the comfort of my home, and it is really the only way to get tall sizes anyway.  What is with them carrying petite’s in store but no love for tall people?!

[PS – today is the big day!  We’re having our midwest wedding reception tonight!]

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2010 12:26 am

    Good luck with the presentation and happy reception!

    I wish I could do the same. Online shopping just isn’t the same here – shipping is ridiculous!!!

    • July 11, 2010 6:12 pm

      Can I second the “shipping is ridiculous” down here in Australasia!.

      No love for the tall, there’s definitely no love for the short either. I’m not super short either I’m 5.7 and I have to cut a foot off my pants everytime. Though on the upside I did learn to hem and my girlfriend was very impressed by this initially.

      Good luck with the presentation!

  2. July 10, 2010 7:01 am

    Have fun at your Midwest reception!

    I’m very nervous about purchasing things online because, sometimes, returning things is such a pain.

    • July 13, 2010 7:09 am

      Returning things is only a little bit of a pain, but I find that it is less of a pain than actually going shopping. 🙂

  3. July 10, 2010 2:15 pm

    Hahah I have exactly the opposite complaint that most stores don’t carry Petites in store, but you’re right, at least some stores have a Petites section. I guess I’ve never seen a Tall section in any of the BR stores before.

    Hope you had a great reception!

  4. July 13, 2010 12:58 pm

    I’m a new follower. I hope the suit works out for you and that you had a great reception!

Leave a Reply

