Skip to content

Wedding Gifts, part 2

July 20, 2010

Since this is a personal finances blog, I will reveal that we received a little over $1500 in cash gifts from the most recent reception.  Of course we did pay $800 in plane tickets to be there, however we were happy to do that regardless.  Seeing as how transportation of gifts is difficult, we only received one physical gift!  I was surprised no one ordered gifts from the registry and had them sent (that is what I would have done!), but I’m not disappointed.  Skimming the list, the least anyone gave was $20 (for a couple) and the most was $150.  I think this is all pretty standard for weddings in my family.

We plan to use some of the money as intended, on home items.   Here are my top priorities:

  • Sheets (probably two sets)
  • Towels (probably about 4 more)
  • Updated bathroom stuff (6+ year old pink and purple flowers decor probably can go)
  • 4 additional sets of dishes (no china, just every day stuff.  We got 4 sets from our earlier wedding.)
  • Recycling garbage can
  • wine glasses (I broke like a million in the last 3 months)

T’s list is the same as mine (except probably the bathroom stuff) but also includes:

Unfortunately, I don’t think we are going to  his wish list just yet.  We’ll probably get everything on mine, but we are waiting for a bigger discount.  After you get married both Macy’s and Bed Bath and Beyond will give you 10% off all remaining items, followed a few weeks later by 20% off?  Naturally we are waiting for 20% off, particularly for Macy’s (since BB&B has 20% off constantly via coupons).

There also are some miscellaneous small things we may get, but I hope to have some money leftover to convert to euros for our vacation and maybe some to put into savings.

I don’t recall exactly how much we got at our California wedding/ceremony (since there was no “part 1” to this), but I will say that we for sure did not “come out ahead” financially as people are rumored to do.  This is obviously fine and was completely expected.  Best of all, we are married and we’ll never have to spend money on our wedding again!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sara permalink
    July 20, 2010 1:27 pm

    I only know of one couple that came out ahead on their wedding, and it was only because their parents paid for most of the wedding, and their family traditionally gives significant chunks of change as wedding gifts. Aunts & uncles would contribute easily about $500-$1,000 each, and grandparents would be plopping down $5,000 because they purposely saved to give money like that. My family is more like yours, as is my boyfriend’s, so I’m sure when we get married we will not be rolling in a profit afterward!

  2. July 20, 2010 1:29 pm

    Some people say it’s tacky to give cash at weddings, but I think I would prefer cash to something that’s not in my registry or something that wouldn’t fit into my decor.

    The Eames lounge chair does look awesome though 🙂

  3. July 20, 2010 6:25 pm

    Can I suggest when you buy your crockery. Everyday crockery usually comes in 4 piece settings, buy 2 so you have enough for 8 people, and buy a third and put in in the top of a cupboard or something. You’ll always break a couple of cups and a plate and you’ll never be able to match them.

Leave a Reply

