Skip to content

Good news!

August 30, 2010

Earlier this month, I had a mid-year review with my manager and found out that I’m getting a promotion!

And it comes with a raise!  I’m not sure how much yet, because all this hasn’t gone into effect.  My manager submitted me months ago, and it had to be approved by my boss’s boss’s boss’s boss — but it was!  It should go into effect “this month”, so basically, any day now.

It comes with no new responsibilities – it’s more of a paperwork exercise to reflect the level of contribution/responsibility I already am at.

I had intended to bring it up at my review, but assumed I’d have to wait even longer for it to make it’s way through the corporate red tape, so I was surprised to hear that it had already gone (most of the way) through, especially considering it was less than a year since my last (definitely overdue) promotion. He also said a lot of great things about my contributions to the team and feedback he got from those I work more closely with, and said that this promotion was “well deserved” and “overdue” even.

Even more than the money, it’s the recognition.  It’s all the nice comments he said when he told me about it.  That is so so so important, and it made me feel really great to hear.  (But I’m excited about the raise too!)

I do realize this is kind of a crap time to be talking about promotions and raises.  Because while I do deserve it, there are a lot of other people that also deserve things like that and aren’t able to get it due to the economy.  You don’t always get what you deserve, and I know that, and I am very very lucky that I did.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sara permalink
    August 30, 2010 10:29 am

    YAY, congratulations! It’s always awesome to hear that people are actually rewarded for their work. I’ve been lucky twice in that regard, unlucky once (I left that job within a month after that!) and am currently in a job reclassification & hoping it works out!

  2. August 30, 2010 10:56 am

    Congrats! You DO deserve it and you should be excited – esp for the recognition! 🙂 I’m still trying to get a raise…hopefully sooner rather than later, since it’4 been 1.5yrs since my last measly increase (due to promotion).

  3. August 30, 2010 3:43 pm

    Congratulations! Don’t feel guilty about talking about the things you earn. Heck, there’s always going to be someone poorer than you somewhere, so if we kept that in mind at all times, we’d never celebrate our achievements! And this is something to celebrate! 🙂

  4. tom permalink
    August 30, 2010 3:52 pm

    Congrats!!… and you might be able to see the raise right now. In the company portal “T.A.” check out “My Profile” and click “My Employment History”. Sometimes it shows up there before it goes into effect.

  5. August 30, 2010 4:42 pm

    Hurrah! Congrats.

    When I finally got my promotion and raise, I was so ridiculously grateful. Even though I’d already in effect been doing the job for a couple of months already.

    For me, I think the biggest thing was just my title change, as that was a big step up.

  6. September 1, 2010 4:03 pm

    Congratulations!!

Leave a Reply

