Skip to content

How Lucky!

September 3, 2010

I have this song on my ipod, and it starts out like this:

One day, we’ll get out of this [crappy] apartment.
One day is all it takes for things to turn around now
All I know is I got you and you got me, babe.
And when that morning comes
I’ll make coffee and you’ll read the paper
We’ll talk about our plans
And I’ll keep saying how lucky we are

Whenever I hear it, I can’t help but think to myself how lucky we are.

I like to attribute the good things in my life primarily to luck.  Objectively, it’s mostly true.  I was born in an amazing country to parents who encouraged education and were emotionally supportive.  Pure luck.  I was born with the aptitude to excel in school and work, graduated when the job market was strong, and had a job offer 9 months before I graduated college.  Luck.  Yeah, sure, I worked really hard along the way… but I also have a driven personality, am good with delayed gratification, and a natural born saver and planner.  All that comes so easily to me.  How can I separate the choices I make and what I do from who I am?

I do think everyone can take actions to improve their situations if they aren’t happy.  I think you can make it much more likely lucky things will happen to you.  “The harder I work, the luckier I get” and “the grass is greener where you water it” and all that.  But let’s not kid ourselves.  A lot of the good and bad in life is chance.

Even if it isn’t fully true (who can really know for sure?), it seems much less self congratulatory to think in this way.

So I do.

And how lucky we are!  Not someday.  Today.  Right now!

Usually I hear the sung as I’m going for a run on the path by the ocean, surrounded by happy tourists, sun dipping towards the horizon.  I’m so freakin’ lucky, and so so grateful.

What in your life makes you feel lucky and grateful?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2010 8:46 am

    I think I am lucky that I met so many nice people in my life. Friends are awesome and I think I am lucky to have some good ones 🙂

  2. Sara permalink
    September 3, 2010 9:47 am

    EVERYTHING in my life makes me feel lucky and grateful. I’m a firm believer in keeping your head up with the thought that millions of people are worse off than you even on your WORST day, even if we’re just counting people in this country. Rest of the world? Forget it! We’re living a dream. I don’t even have a ton of money or anything to put me up in some high role in society… I’d still feel grateful & lucky even if I lived in a studio with 5 other people. It’s just how I view life, I suppose. 🙂

  3. September 4, 2010 11:48 pm

    Right now I feel lucky to have Rambo. I know it sounds cheesy but he’s been really great to me and this week I’ve just kinda had a aha moment regarding him. I’m also lucky for having a good mentality regarding my money lately.

Leave a Reply

