Skip to content

Promotion stalled!

September 24, 2010

Remember how thrilled I was last month when my manager told me I was getting a promotion?  That my boss’s boss’s boss already approved it?  It was basically a done deal, we were just waiting for the last of the red tape to be gone through.

Right after that, I went on vacation, came back, got a cold, and then went to a wedding in missouri…. and i was really too busy to worry about it.  Now that it is about a month later, the promotion hasn’t gone into effect, so I cornered my manager to see what the deal was.

It turns out that after it was approved, someone decided that another guy, even higher up, would have to approve all promotions this year.  This guy is basically the head all SoCal operations and is just a few levels down from the CEO of the company.  I can’t imagine reading justifications then approving/disapproving a slew of promotions is high on the list of things to do.

I’m pretty disappointed that it is no longer a for sure thing, and that I won’t know for sure until some undetermined date in the future.  I know I really deserve this – I’ve been doing such good work , the same work that all the more senior people are doing, and I’m doing it at least as well as most of them!  I know that if the higher ups don’t approve me, my manager will give me a good raise next spring and put me in again next year — but I hope I don’t have to wait!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 4:55 pm

    Oh I’m so sorry to hear that! But I feel positive that it’ll come through. How can they say no!?!? So many people have rubberstamped it.

  2. Sara permalink
    September 29, 2010 3:03 pm

    Sucky, I hope it works out! I really hate feeling like this stuff is out of your control, I’m in the same boat myself… one person holding up my raise!!

Trackbacks

  1. Money, Etc . « Stacking Pennies
  2. Money in my 20s « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

