Skip to content

Clean Slate

September 28, 2010

Really, I’m somewhat at a loss for where my money has gone the past few months.  Of course, I can dig through my mint.com and cover most of the non-cash transactions.  But splitting things with T and not keeping track of them probably will make even that confusing.  Add to the few days of unpaid leave, the miscellaneous wedding cash we’ve slowly been using, it’s all just a mess.  I don’t want to sort it out.

So you know what?  I’m just not going to.  I’m giving it a clean slate. I keep getting further and further behind, and if I wait until I get time to catch up, I’ll probably never get back on track.  Starting October 1st, I’ll have an October budget, and I’ll track spending as I go.  No more buying what I want, when I want it either.  Back to wish lists, patience, and savings!

This will make any year-end spending analysis impossible, but with a wedding and honeymoon, this year would be a big anomaly anyway.  I’ll still be able to see how much savings accounts went up, and I’m still aggressively saving for retirement.

I considered abandoning tracking my spending all together – I have a lot more leeway in my budget than when I first started blogging.  Still, I know I save more when I see the numbers, and that car fund is not growing very fast.  Even when I decided to spend a bit extra here or there, I feel more in control seeing exactly what that impact will be.

I used to feel confused when people had trouble staying on top of tracking spending – how hard was it to just enter it every day or every other day?  But now I’m in the same boat!  It really takes very little time, but I  have to make it a priority again!

And now that I have a clean slate, there is nothing stopping me!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2010 7:37 am

    Heh, I’ve had to start many clean slates over the years… 🙂 I have nothing insightful to say other than: It happens. 😀

  2. September 28, 2010 6:05 pm

    My trick is that when I spend at work, I email the amount to myself if I forgot to get a receipt.

    I normally ALWAYS get a receipt though, and enter it at the end of the day when I’m on my computer. It takes 1 minute for me if I’m organized…

    If I wait until the end of the week, forget it LOL

    Also, I have to keep receipts and track everything for my business .. so that makes me a lot more diligent

    I just adore looking at my spending numbers and seeing the big picture at Year-End in my tab. It helps me see where I spent, how much and what I can hold off on.

  3. September 29, 2010 12:38 am

    I’ll be doing the same thing on October 1. My problem has only really been this month, but I completely flaked on tracking my expenses. PLUS, I’ve been awful at meal planning and grocery shopping! I have got to get back on the band wagon in October. Good luck to you!!

Leave a Reply

