Skip to content

New Breakfast Kick

September 29, 2010

Overnight Oats!

This is old news for anyone who reads health blogs.  I’ve been striving to get a better breakfast forever.  I grew up on cereal, and there really is no better morning comfort food for me.  I started buying (cheaper, store brand) granola to increase the nutrition.  Still sort of expensive, best with yogurt.

For awhile I made Green Monster Smoothies for breakfast, but making a mess with the blender in the morning is kind of a hassle for a non-morning person like me.  So I reverted back to granola/milk, supplementing with oatmeal if I ran out.

Eventually, I decided to try Overnight Oats.  That’s right – you put oatmeal in the fridge overnight and you eat it without cooking it!  I loved the idea since all the prep is the night before.  I’m not vegan or vegetarian, but I decided to give this vegan recipe over at Oh She Glows a try anyway. I followed the recipe almost exactly, even getting Chia seeds after a few days leaving them out.  (I’m always a bit skeptical of super foods – I let you know if I start feeling like an Aztec warrior anytime soon.)

Delicious?  Well, it depends.  I’ve had more delicious breakfasts, but it was as enjoyable as my morning granola.  And it was SO filling and nutritious!  I wasn’t hungry all morning, and had to reduce the portion size a little bit so I would be hungrier for lunch!

Everyone knows oats are very cheap too!  The add-ins also add cost, but since you get many uses out of them, I think the overall breakfast is less than the cost of my granola.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2010 8:39 am

    I tried the Overnight Oats a couple months ago and I was so disappointed. Everyone on the blogs was raving about them! I just couldn’t stand the cold, wet-ness of them….ugh. Oh well, I’m more of a yogurt mess person (which you see a lot of on Caitlin’s blog – http://www.healthytippingpoint.com

    Glad you liked them though! I agree, they are very filling.

    • September 29, 2010 10:39 pm

      Do you like regular oatmeal?

      Yogurt mess looks delicious! Maybe i’ll follow money maus’s model and treat myself to something extra special delicious (albeit slightly more expensive) on weekends…

      I’m not incredibly picky when it comes to breakfast things – to me, it is mostly about fuel, and deliciousness is second. This isn’t true later in the day. Maybe because I’m not a morning person? That isn’t to say i didn’t like it – i thought it was as good as oatmeal or cereal. I wouldn’t neccearily rave about them though – just about the fueling factor. I can totally see where the texture could turn someone off!

  2. September 29, 2010 3:14 pm

    I tried them once…and I just can’t get behind oats at all! Too plain for me, even with additions & fruit. But glad you like them! 🙂

    I eat breakfast at work (bagel w/ cream chesse & fresh fruit) which is a provided benefit. On the weekends I make my own acai bowls or Chobani greek yogurt with Bear Naked granola. It’s expensive but REALLY healthy & worth it to me because I only eat it 2x per week!

    • September 29, 2010 10:41 pm

      I do like it – but i’ve yet to meet a breakfast that I wouldn’t eat!

      Still, I really like the idea of a special breakfast on weekends. I do prefer yogurt/granola combos, but it was just too much for daily eats (even with crappy granola, which wasn’t as delicious)

  3. September 29, 2010 3:45 pm

    Interesting. Oats are cheap but I think everything else would kill me! I mean, my favourite cereals are expensive…but nut butter, Chia seeds, maple syrup, yoghurt? Not to mention almond milk.

    • September 29, 2010 10:48 pm

      no yoghurt! nut butter could just be peanut butter – that is pretty cheap in my experience, and something i generally stock for protein. The chia seeds were not cheap, but you also don’t use that many. For frugality sake, i’d look for something to subsititue (or omit them – i did this for a few days and i think you just reduce the almond milk or increase the oats).

      I’ve also been neglecting the syrup since I used sweetened almond milk, which I found for $1.50 for a container that about a week. But I do have some on hand that I rarely use. Non-vegan versions of this may be cheaper (but they tend to use greek yogurt).

      You’ve inspired me to wish I did a more thorough cost comparison! Perhaps coming in the future?

  4. Sara permalink
    September 29, 2010 6:59 pm

    I love when my blog “themes” collide like this. I LOVE Oh She Glows! (And your blog, too!!!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

