Skip to content

This is not a fitness blog

September 29, 2010

… but I would like some runner opinions!

I have 3 weekends left, and the 4th is the L.A. Rock and Roll Half marathon.  Woooo! My training plan has sort of been ad hoc lately due traveling and life in general.   This isn’t ideal, but it is how it has been.  FYI, during the week, I’m trying to do a 5 mile base, 3 mile base, a day of speed work (this has been spotty), and a day of yoga.  Plus a quick strength routine two days.

What would you recommend doing for the long runs?  At minimum, I want to have a 10 miler under my belt before the 13.2.  I’m thinking 11 might be better.  I ran 9 last weekend, no real issues.  So I’m thinking…

This weekend:  10 miles
Next weekend:  11 miles
Third weekend:  8/9 miles
Fourth weekend:  RACE Day!

Or do you not taper long runs?  I know training plans aren’t an exact science, I’m just looking for your opinions!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 4:11 am

    I would switch this weekend and next, your longest run normally is 3 weeks prior. And make that 8/9 really easy that last week

  2. September 30, 2010 7:17 am

    I would definitely aim for running at least 11 or 12 miles before the half. I just ran Disney, and my longest run prior to taper was 10, and boy did I feel those last three miles!

    My brother said that once you are used to running these longer distances, you can probably run full distance with a shorter taper, but for now, I guess aim for 12?

    Good luck! I wanted to run LA RnR but am still recovering from a previous injury

    • September 30, 2010 8:03 am

      Interesting – i based ending at 10 on hal higdon’s novice plan, but i do see many plans go to 12 or beyond! His intermediate plan goes 10, 11, 12, race with no taper.

      Thanks for the encouragement!

      • Tiffany (stuffedwithfluff) permalink
        September 30, 2010 8:56 am

        Ah makes sense, I followed the same plan. =)

  3. September 30, 2010 8:41 am

    I am by no means a running expert, but I’ve run a couple of half marathons. I would recommend running 10 miles this weekend, 12 the weekend after, then a really easy 5 or 6 the weekend before.

  4. Eric permalink
    September 30, 2010 2:56 pm

    The most important thing is that you avoid injury; don’t stress the difference between an 11 and 10 mile LR. Getting to race day with no injuries is way more important than that extra mile. I’m doing my first full this year and my longest run is only 18-20 miles.

    When I ran my first half, my longest run before the race was only 6 miles (now that was a bad idea). It sucked, and I paid for it the day after the race, but I still came in around 2 hours.

Leave a Reply

