Skip to content

Sidebars Updated

October 21, 2010

After a a couple months of neglect, I finally updated my savings sidebars.

I had overly ambitious 2010 goals, and I knew it when I set them, and later revised them to more realistic numbers.  My sidebars still reflect my original goals.  Of course, I also am exceeding my retirement savings plans, so that must count for something.

My car fund is a bit below $4,000.  My car is still doing ok, but every time I drive a rental car, I want something nicer, newer, smoother.  Still, I have very little interest in cars.  This has served me well financially, even if it doesn’t score me any points for being cool.   I’m thinking we’ll start looking once this gets to about $10,000.  At this rate, that will be 2515, roughly.

My long term savings is still undefined right now, but I’m hoping we’ll use it for a very large travel experience in the next 2-5 years.  For not having a specific goal, it’s at a healthy $2900 or so.

My emergency fund is stable at $16k, and my travel fund is building again (for now!) at about $400.  I really really was looking forward to a raise to help out my cash savings, and I’m still hoping it comes through!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 4:41 pm

    I think your funds and goals are AWESOME. You inspire me to keep saving and saving 😀 it’s great

Leave a Reply

