Skip to content

State of the blog (and T’s arm)

November 10, 2010

A lot has happened in the SP household lately!

1. T broke his arm in 1-2 places while cycling last weekend!  We don’t know for sure what is going on until he goes in for the follow up Monday to get some MRI results.  He should be ok in several weeks.  We hope.  There still is a possibility he’ll need surgery.

1a. We had to cancel our Thanksgiving canoe trip!
1b.  From my HSA, I spent $10 on a copay, $5 for Vicadin, and $50 for random bandaging supplies to put on his other wounds!

2. I was admiring my cutie niece and nephew on my sister’s personal blog, and left a comment gushing about how adorable they were in their halloween costumes.  (They really were!)   Unthinkingly, I signed it just as I do my comments on personal finances blogs, “stackingpennies”.  Oh no!

Ok, I lied about “a lot”.  Just those two things, but let’s talk about #2!

I called my sister and asked her to delete the comment so no one else who reads the blog (mostly our family and her friends) would see it.  She clearly knows about my blog now.   Whoops.  I temporarily made my blog private while I thought about it, but clearly it is back now.  (Sister, if you read this, it is ok, but please keep it to yourself for now!)

Lately, I have been feelling like I’ve outgrown my personal finance blog.  When I first graduated college, I had no clue what to do with “all that money” I suddenly had.  I am a saver by nature.  But where to save, how to navigate 401ks, health insurance, student loan consolidation, budgeting, banking and investing was all very foreign to me.  Through this blog (and through reading others), I feel like I have gotten a handle on the basic “adult” skills of money management.  Quite some time ago, actually.

I continue to talk about money, but it rarely feels fresh.  I could try to write more polished articles about money, but I never had an interest in that side of pf blogging.  I do think there is value for personal finance blogs like mine.  Money should be talked about more frankly and openly.  Weddings should be blogged about while talking about budgets IN DETAIL.   You should talk about whether or not Groupon saves you money, your credit score, gift giving, budget vs. values, time vs. money, or why the cost of laser hair removal is worth it to you.  If you find a great bargain on a cute dressy red top you should share!  With me!  Now!  (Some of the linked bloggers are much more polished than I am.)

You should talk about it!  Money shouldn’t be taboo!  But it still is.

Also, I don’t want to have NO blog!

I’ve been toying with the idea of a non-anon, or semi-anonymous blog for several months.  I want to include much more than personal finance in the official scope.  But I haven’t been able to come up with a good name.  More importantly, I still want to be able to talk about money openly and frankly on occasion… and I just don’t know that it is possible in another setting.

I’ve kept this one going (mostly!), but I’m unsure of the direction I want to take it.  And I still am.  Until I’m sure, I’m not going to switch direction.  Therefore… continue to expect sporadic posts occasionally somewhat related to money.

Thoughts?  Suggestions?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2010 10:39 pm

    Honestly, I’ve drifted away from the standard PFness for a while now and I think that most of us have done so in some shape or fashion. Why not just add those other aspects that you want to talk about to this blog if you’re not really into renaming or coming up with something entirely new?

    Also, now you’ve got an unexplained asterisk, what’s it for? 🙂

    • November 10, 2010 11:15 pm

      eeep! I added the explanation, then decided not to asterisk it! OOops, deleted!

      I agree with this, except I hate that i titled my blog something so OBVIOUSLY financial. Yours is much more flexible!

  2. November 10, 2010 11:40 pm

    I want to go self hosted, with a whole new name and possibly less anon. I’d keep blogging on the stuff I blog about….but that ‘perfect title’ eludes me! I’m stumped, but grateful for the excuse to procrastinate on the effort and cost involved in the next step.

    • November 11, 2010 8:22 am

      I know! I’m so stuck on the title. But clearly, if I was really motivated, I’d get past that hurdle!

  3. November 11, 2010 7:38 am

    I’ve been PF blogging for nearly 4 years now and you’re right, it’s hard to stay fresh and new without going into the “article” side of PF – and that’s not where I want to take GMBMFB. I have lulls, sometimes I have nothing to say, and it’s hard to remember that people are inspired and interested in your day-to-day money activity and how you manage yourself on a regular basis.

    Like Revanche said, most of us have branched out and started talking about other aspects of our lives too. And I think that’s okay and really interesting to learn a bit more about the people we’ve been talking to for years! 🙂

  4. November 11, 2010 8:10 am

    I did the SAME THING on my brother’s blog. I have no idea whether he still reads it. My sister also knows about my blog, but that’s because I told her I had one and sent her on a scavenger hunt to figure out who I was (she did). It hasn’t changed the way I write about our finances, because I’d say all the same things to them in real life.

  5. November 11, 2010 11:00 am

    I agree about the PFness of my blog, too! And I’m stuck on my name as well.

    Good luck! I’ll always read 🙂

  6. Bonnie permalink
    November 11, 2010 12:45 pm

    I’ll keep reading, whatever you choose to write about! I like the personal stuff, too, on the PF blogs.

    I have a PF request for you, though: could you write an article about using a professional advisor (say, Edward J. or the like) vs. handling your own investments.

    One plea: DO NOT become one of the “article posting” blogs. I hate that.

  7. November 11, 2010 2:26 pm

    I like your blog and welcome more personal posts. I always worry about signing into my blogging e-mail when friends are watching me sign into regular e-mail. I’m not ready to become public with it, but have been toying with the idea of getting a tumblr or personal blog as well. Keep us updated!

  8. November 11, 2010 5:06 pm

    I go back and forth all the time. I want the income from my blogging to continue rising, so I sometimes write “article-like” posts. But, guess what? I DO NOT enjoy it as much. One of my favorite posts to write ever was “How I tamed my inner bridezilla with $900”. It barely had anything to do with how to save money, but I got creative with the story and loved that. I’m not sure if my readers really like that, but that’s what I like, so I always go back and forth. It is SOOOO hard to pick a title and a niche. I still think about different titles for my blog… It’s so funny how blogging is so confusing sometimes. 🙂 Anyways, I think if you just pick 3-4-5 topics of your life that 1) you’re passionate about and 2) you are really involved in (so you would have a lot of content to write about) then you’d have a great blog! I think people like personal blogs where people talk about a couple main topics. At least that’s how I feel with the blogs I read. The blogs that are UBER personal (all over the map about every subject) don’t interest me as much because half the topics they talk about I don’t really care about. Not sure if that makes sense. Either way, I’ll continue reading!

    • SP permalink*
      November 11, 2010 5:40 pm

      I totally agree! I already have my short list of preliminary topics I think I’d talk about mostly: money, my goals, running/fitness, travel/adventures (when I am lucky enough to go on them). Plus some category that can capture the occasional “misc” post, but I don’t want it to be a totally random blog. But i guess my topic list is a bit random…

      Your blog is a great role model of where I want to go, actually. I just haven’t been willing to put in the work, and I am obsessing over a new blog name. Even though how much can that REALLY matter? But having picked “wrong” once, I want something that I won’t grow out of.

  9. November 11, 2010 5:24 pm

    I have to admit that I have been a lurker for years. I enjoy reading your blog, regardless of the topic of the post. It is obvious that you blog for yourself, which in my opinion should be the foremost reason to do it. I hope if you decide to go a different dirrection you will let us know where to find you.

    • SP permalink*
      November 11, 2010 5:35 pm

      Don’t worry! If I do move on, I will definitely include you current readers. That way I won’t have to start out with ZERO blog readers. it’s much more fun to know a few people listen, even if they lurk quietly

      I do blog for myself, though I know that isn’t where the money is. I just don’t want to go where the money is right now (probably not ever). A little strange for a pf blog, but not so strange for a somewhat stubborn minded person who just wants to do what they want to do!

      I’ll keep my money from my day job and not turn blogging into work too!

  10. November 11, 2010 6:38 pm

    Well, I definitely hope you keep blogging, and I definitely wouldn’t be opposed to hearing more about non-pf stuff. Let’s face it, another post on “10 ways to save money at the grocery store” is a lot less interesting than “I went shopping today.” (For me, anyway.)

    Whatever you decide to do with a new blog name or keeping the old, I’ll still read!

  11. November 15, 2010 12:05 pm

    I feel the same way. I’ve been so busy I have had a hard time blogging and when I do find the time sometime I just feel as if mind my is blank. Budgeting and personal finance is still incredibly important to me, but I feel like I’m a little burnt out of things to say on the topic.

Leave a Reply

