Skip to content

Expensive Weekend

November 14, 2010

Car

I took my car in for an oil change and asked them to check out my brakes – they’d been squealing ever so quietly, and I figured they were due to be changed.  I walked out $270 dollars later with new front brakes, new oil & filter, and some other minor tweaks.  I’m also about due for my timing belt change, which I expect to be over $500.  Yikes!  Good thing I have a car fund!

Now that a few major life events are out of the way, we’ve been talking about a new car again.  T is graduating (maybe/probably) in the spring, so depending on what happens there, we’ll be looking at buying a new car next year.  Maybe.  But I have been saying that probably since I graduated college.  It just isn’t a priority.

Blu-Ray

T broke his arm last weekend and has been watching a lot of Netflix instant view while he recuperates.  He used this as a reason to finally convince me that he should get a blu-ray player.  It worked!  I have always told him he could start thinking about one once the prices dropped.  They were $200-$250 last year, and he found one for about $150.  Honestly, I don’t care one way or another about blu-ray players, but I spend $150 on things that make me happy plenty often, so it is only fair that he can do the same.

We still haven’t managed to fully combine finances (momentum is working against me!), so I paid for the car repairs and he paid for the blu-ray player.  Works for me.  I don’t have a blu-ray fund, but I do have a car fund.

Weekend love

The rest of the weekend was low key but nice, filled with running, brunching, cooking, and relaxing.  I made carrot soup, stir fry kale, apple dumplings, and am gearing up for another butternut squash pizza tonight.  Yum!  Most of this is courtesy of my CSA.  I also managed to meal plan for the rest of the week (a rarity!).  We’ll be eating well through Friday, then we’ll go back to staring at the cupboards and fridge wondering what to eat!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 19, 2010 3:40 pm

    Good for you and your csa! We live in a big city and do not have this option here but we have a few herbs we grow but wish it could lead to more! Cooking healthy is insurance for your long term health and I’ve seen the results in my life and the lives of others.

Leave a Reply

