Skip to content

Wedding Album Suggestions?

November 20, 2010

I’m talking mostly to those wed recently enough to have digital photos, and those who are control freaks enough to have demanded digital rights to all photos. And also, maybe those who were too cheap to buy the $999 professional album from your photographer.  Or any prints at all, actually.

Because that’s me.

I’m looking at SmileBooks, they print the photo books on photo paper which turns out really nice.  I used Blurb for a photo guestbook (which turned out well), and I designed a nice boudoir album with SmileBooks for T.  I prefer the paper of the SmileBooks, but it is more expensive.

But I have 900+ wedding photos, and I’ve been reluctant to invest the time putting together the album.  We’re considering using the design service.  It is a bit less than $1/page, plus for $10 they’ll do the work of sorting through the photos and picking the best ones.  There is no risk – they will fix it until I love it.

I think I’d probably do a better job myself, if only because I could spend an infinite amount of time on it and I know exactly what we want.  But the boudoir book probably took 5 hours or so, and it only had 50 pictures.  So… yikes!  I’m kind of on a tight schedule since these would make wonderful Christmas gifts for parents!  I could do it… but is that how I want to spend my weekends?

Do you have any recommendations for printing or designing a modern wedding album?  If you bought yours from the photographer, was it worth it?

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 9:34 am

    we used mypublisher.com and were very happy with the results. can’t remember what it cost us but it must have been reasonable enough that i agreed to go through with it.

  2. Anon permalink
    November 22, 2010 11:28 am

    I wish I had seen your post earlier – they just had an NYC groupon for Smilebooks (had never heard of them before). You may want to keep an eye out as I know they recycle deals in different cities. http://www.groupon.com/deals/smile-books?c=dnb&p=3

  3. November 27, 2010 11:07 am

    I’m doing this right now! (Literally, I’m waiting for photos to upload so I can arrange the books!)

    I started watching for deals on Groupon and photo hosting sites (Money Saving Mom is a GREAT resource for this) and found a number of free or super-cheap options for printing. Today I ordered a free 8×10 collage from Walgreens (ends today!). I got a Groupon deal a few weeks ago for Mixbook.com which I’m using to create photo books for us and our parents. I’m also ordering holiday cards from Shutterfly, using their 50 free code that they’re offering bloggers. Money Saving Mom has had a number of other great deals that I may not take advantage of — she finds photo printing deals on a very regular basis.

    Then I’m going to upload a majority of the photos to a website where anyone can order whatever they want — I’m not sure yet whether this will be Mixbook or Shutterfly. I’ll have to take a closer look at their printing prices and see which offers the best deal for my family and friends.

    Basically, if you start looking for deals you can find some really great ones. I’ve been very happy with Mixbook so far, in terms of their layout software. Of course, I haven’t seen the printed book yet — if you remind me, I’ll let you know what I think of it when I see it!

Leave a Reply

