Skip to content

Getting in the Holiday Spirit, even if I have to FORCE it

November 30, 2010

Thanksgiving was fun, but it felt very un-Thanksgiving like.  I’ve only had ONE family Thanksgiving in the past 6 years or so, but this year it hit especially hard.  I know I have SO SO SO much to be thankful for.  Even just limiting myself to the past YEAR, I’m overwhelmed with how lucky I’ve been.  But just because I know I’m lucky, doesn’t mean I FEEL lucky!

I’m in a rotten mood, but I’m determined not to let it perpetuate into December.  Because December is CHRISTMAS!

The the past, Christmas has mostly snuck up on me.  I was usually drowning in a combination of schoolwork and and regular work, and once I had my plane ticket home, I just didn’t have time to worry about it.  But this year, I don’t have to worry about class.  Work, holiday shopping, holiday parties, and maybe even some holiday baking!

So, to kick things off and help improve my mood, please share your favorite holiday cookie recipe!  Mine are simple to make, yummy to eat:  Peanut Blossoms!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 5:43 am

    I’m not the hugest holiday fan either, so I can relate to you talking about forcing it until it become true. Good luck!!! Yummy kitchen smells always seems to help 🙂

  2. November 30, 2010 7:05 am

    Right now I don’t eat holiday cookies. I’m gorging on holiday mochi (sweet japanese rice cakes)

    If I ate cookies it’d be a normal chocolate chip thing. In fact, I might make some next week…

  3. November 30, 2010 2:11 pm

    Well you know how the saying goes, “If you want to be happy, be.” 😉

    Thanks for the recipe!!

  4. December 1, 2010 6:49 pm

    I hope you’ll get some good holiday cookie suggestions – I need help. Going to a cookie exchange on Sunday and haven’t planned a cookie to make. If you go to my blog and search though last year I made pumpkin chocolate chip cookies. They were very tasty and quite easy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

