Skip to content

Joined a Gym

December 7, 2010

After using up a pass to get 2 weeks free, I joined a gym last month and have been going about 2-3 times a week.  I still love running outside, but I haven’t gotten over my squeamishness about running in the dark, despite our safe neighborhood.

I’m paying $30/month, no initiation fee, no contract,  multiple location access.  So far I’ve only used the treadmills.  I’ve always done my strength/core work at home and I see no reason to change this.

I must say, I’m not loving it!  The treadmill has been super boring, but it does give me precise pace control and an easy way to throw in mild hills.  I am still loving my weekend long runs and am looking forward to finding new routes as they get longer and longer and longer in preparation for my first marathon!

You can get great discounts on gyms by buying a yearlong (or 2-3 year) pass all at once, but I only intend to be a member during these dark winter months.  The sun sets at 4:44 today!  By February, sunset will be creeping back towards 6 p.m., then daylight savings time will come to the rescue in March.  I can’t wait!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2010 1:34 pm

    Yeah I do hate when it starts to get colder and the suns starts to disappear. 😦 I haven’t ran outside since probably October. I’m always a bit skinnier in the summer months because it’s so easy to run outside. I’m with you – hurry up March!!!

  2. December 7, 2010 2:05 pm

    Yes I feel you, I’m a November to March gym-girl!!!

  3. December 8, 2010 7:39 pm

    Can you break up the monotony of the dreadmill with an occasional elliptical workout or some other machine?

  4. December 10, 2010 10:53 am

    Congrats on Joining the gym. I did a while ago, and while it was very difficult to get into the habit at first, I seem to be getting into it now.

    As for the treadmill, Try the stair-stepper or maybe lifting weights if you’re tired of the same thing every day.

  5. karen permalink
    December 10, 2010 10:35 pm

    I also joined a gym recently just for the winter months. Thanks for the reminder of when there will be daylight after work!

    If winter has to be cold why can’t it compensate with more daylight?! (Not a serious question :))

  6. sfordinarygirl permalink
    December 25, 2010 2:20 am

    I have a love/hate relationship with the gym especially treamills now that I’m comfortable running outside. What about classes? I tried a spinning class recently and love the active cardio vs passive of just being on a treadmill. There’s more to the gym than treadmills or elliptical or even stairmasters!

    The machines are really useful for building muscle especially if you enjoy running. The leg extensions help your muscles build strength and are especially beneficial to runners.

Leave a Reply

