Skip to content

Year End Job Stuffs

December 15, 2010

Let’s do the bad news first.

I saw this coming, but my promotion (as well as nearly every other promotion) was denied this year.  My manager said he’s never had one denied in the past, and this year he had 3 of 3 denied.  Thanks executives who don’t know me, my manager, or anything that I do!  This is SO frustrating, not only because of the monetary compensation, but because it is insulting to be called the level I am called when I know I do work beyond it.  It felt like a big “screw you, little employees!” from upper management.  Also, my manager told me it was basically a done deal, then had to tell me that actually, no, it wasn’t.  He’s had a rough year with things like that.  I don’t envy his job.

He said that he’ll give me the best raise he can and hopes that the financial implications of not getting the promotion will be minimal.  He’ll do what he can, but “minimal” is relative, and it isn’t fair.  Not fair!

I know the economy is bad, and yes, I’m very grateful for my job.  But just because the economy is bad doesn’t mean there aren’t other jobs for talented people in my fields. With a bit of looking, I probably could get another job somewhere else that pays more.  It isn’t all about the money, but things like this will matter in the long run.  My manager values me and is pulling for my success – I appreciate that immensely.  However,  I feel so unvalued by the company as a whole, except for all the people I actually work with!

But there is good news!

I got the highest ratings possible on my review, even though the suddenly changed the “curve” and it was harder to get the better ratings.  This means a promotion next year is even more justified, and my raise should be solid.  Aside from that, it FEELS SO GOOD to have positive feedback.  I still get insecure about my abilities and my work, and it is good to hear good things from those who work above me.

We also spoke about some opportunities for next year, and it sounded like there will be a lot of areas to learn and grow in, and possibly more detailed task expectation.  Yay!  I’m excited!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 6:20 am

    So are you looking for a new job or not? 🙂 I think it sounds great where you work. You seem happy, except for the raise thing.

    I think there are other things to consider here, such as if you enjoy working with everyone and your manager. If you flip to another job, even if it pays more… you may not get the same work environment, and that sort of camaraderie is hard to quantify into a salary.

    What if next year you get denied again for a raise? (Just curious, not trying to annoy you)

    • SP permalink*
      December 15, 2010 7:39 am

      No, I’m not, definitely not right now.

      We actually are supposed to get raises in just a couple months. If i get denied a raise (or a promotion again) next year, I don’t think it would be good for my career to just accept that. You know? Once, ok, sure, I can have a little patience for a job i like. But over and over? Probably not worth it in the long run. There are other good jobs (probably?)

  2. Bonnie permalink
    December 15, 2010 10:42 am

    Sorry, SP. But I’m glad you got the props at least!

    OT: LA Daze, WHY the password-protected thing again?!!

    • SP permalink*
      December 15, 2010 11:02 am

      Thanks!

      The good comments/ratings really do mean almost as much. ALMOST! ha.

    • December 15, 2010 5:12 pm

      @ Bonnie – I haven’t been in the mood to blog, but once inspiration strikes again, i’ll open it up again! You can follow me on Twitter @losangeles_daze, and I also have a tumblr page: losangelesdaze.tumblr.com.

      Sorry SP, I don’t know any other way to get in touch with Bonnie!

      • SP permalink*
        December 15, 2010 5:35 pm

        no problem – apparently she didn’t know any other way to get in touch with you either!

  3. December 15, 2010 5:10 pm

    I know how you feel! It’s annoying to work so hard above and beyond your job level and then not receive recognition for it. It’s the same at my company. Although I did get a (small) raise and promotion this year, it was long overdue. And my supervisor put up a big fight for me, because the execs wanted to push it to next year. In the meantime, those at the top just keep being promoted. It’s like every other week that I receive a company-wide memo how some executive has moved up. It is just SO UNFAIR!

    • SP permalink*
      December 15, 2010 5:35 pm

      I know!

      I did get a promotion last year (overdue) but got my advanced degree since then, so it is overdue again. That probably hurt when they were evaluating. I also got a decent raise earlier this year, but I was pretty much EXPECTING this second raise with the promotion.

  4. December 16, 2010 10:30 pm

    hi there,
    hope you don’t mind a lurker commenting!
    the EXACT same thing happened to me last year- my boss said my promotion was coming through, that i more than deserved it etc. and then someone upstairs vetoed it do to the economy. I was so mad!
    but this year i got a major promotion and over a 20% raise. so it was worth it to stick it out for a year, although i wouldnt have stayed any longer than that!

    • December 16, 2010 10:31 pm

      opps bad spelling- dont know how to edit

    • December 17, 2010 10:46 pm

      Exactly – I will wait, but not forever. I’m so glad it worked out for you!

  5. December 17, 2010 6:38 am

    Congrats on the high ranking comments!! That definitely leads to a boost to the ol’ confidence level, right? You are right to be grateful for your job. With so many people out of work and without insurance, it’s a blessing that you have steady income. All the best to you!

    • December 17, 2010 10:48 pm

      HUGE confidence boost, I’m still kind of… in awe of it.

      I know it is a blessing to have a job with benefits and such, and i’m grateful. So greatful for my job, and for the other opportunities I have outside my current job.

Leave a Reply

