Skip to content

January Goal: Make progress on combining finances

January 15, 2011

T and I mentally combined finances when we got married.  We both think of it all as “our” money, but we actually have made very little changes to how we manage our money on a day to day basis.  We still don’t even have each other on most of our accounts.  So basically… no, we didn’t actually combine finances.  We intend for them to be combined, but our system was working just fine, so we didn’t bother fixing something that wasn’t broke.

Since our intentions haven’t been making their way into reality on their own, I guess I’m going to have to do it myself!  This month, we’re going to make real progress on actually combining finances.  Since neither of us use our checking accounts as much more than a pass-through account, we’re going to first focus on aligning our savings accounts and getting a joint budget together!  (And when I say “we” I mean “I”, with input from T as needed.)

  1. Find a secure way to document all login information for all accounts that either of us own.  Including non-financial accounts (insurance, etc.)
  2. Close my BANK#1 savings account and transfer all money to T’s BANK#1 savings account, and make that a joint account.  This account is intended to hold our emergency fund and other long term savings.
  3. Add T to my ING target savings fund accounts.  This account holds short term savings and what other bloggers sometimes call sinking funds.
  4. Add T to my money market fund.  This is used mostly for rent, and to have access to savings via check writing.  This possibly could be merged with BANK#1
  5. Start tracking a joint budget

I already started on #1 and #2, and I’m already annoyed at this process… but it is for the best!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 12:20 pm

    Hey,
    I just thought I’d let you know that I’ve linked you on my newest post. Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

  2. January 21, 2011 7:08 pm

    Increase your income that’s the best for obtaining goals.There’s many ways to do this. You can find a job at craigslist or look at your daily newspaper. I really don’t know much about your skills and abilities but I suggest you find a job that you have experience and expertise in. Right now as a college student I just make money sparely from this site I found. It’s not much but it will eventually add up.
    I must say that when I first went to the Swagbucks website, I was a little confused and somewhat skeptical. It mentioned things like being a “premier rewards site” and a leading online search engine. But if they were a search engine, then how does one generate the rewards from? And why have I never heard of them? Well, it turns out that Swagbucks is indeed pretty legit.
    It’s amazingly simple. You just sign up and you can either go to their website each time you want to gain points for surfing the web, or you can just download the Swagbucks toolbar and do your searches from there.
    Then each time you do a search using the Swagbucks search engine, you gain Swag Bucks which are good towards a wide variety of prizes, including everything from GPS systems to memorabilia to gift cards to actual cash via PayPal.
    During the writing of this review, I installed the Swagbucks toolbar on my computer at home. At the completion of this review, I had already gained 410 Swag Bucks! Now, I’ve only got 40 to go before I can get a $5 Amazon gift card!
    Use this referal link to get a bonus of swagbucks for signing up!
    http://www.swagbucks.com/refer/tannguyen1

Trackbacks

  1. just4moms.net » Blog Archive » When Life Gives You Lemons: Why We Don’t Have Combined Finances.

Leave a Reply

