Skip to content

Marthon Training Update

February 8, 2011

No big deal, I just ran 18 miles Sunday!

I don’t say this to brag (though it very much sounds like it, I know).  I say it because I’m continually amazed at what my body can accomplish.  I have a strange love for pushing my body body to exhaustion – somehow it brings peace to my mind.  It’s along the same lines as the feeling I get from our backpacking trips, except not as great since it doesn’t end with camping and I don’t get to hang out with T.  The views in LA are nice, but they certainly don’t compare to my true love, the Sierra Nevada mountains.

I have been having so much fun exploring such a long range of the city using just my two little feet to get from point A… well, back to point A!   But so much in between!  My long run routes take me through at least 3 parks, up in some hills, through runner friendly streets, into wealthy neighborhoods with super tall hedges, and along the Pacific Ocean.  Love!

I’m following a plan by Pete Pfitzinger based on his book, Advanced Marathoning. Of course, I’m only a beginner marathoner, and my time goal is vague and unimpressive.  However, I am a scientist at heart, and his plans are based on exercise science – research and studies.  Exercise physiology.  That’s why I chose his plan, even though it leaves little room for cross training.

I’m paying attention to my body and focusing a lot of fueling (aka EATING!) and recovery.  I’ve been slacking on my ab/strength workouts, but now that I’m feeling a little less worn out, I will start dedicating more time to them again.  My biggest complaint is that my schedule is a lot busier than usual.  I am just not used to spending 3/5 post-work evenings at the gym for 1-3 hours.  The weekends are fine, but I often don’t have a lot of energy for cooking & cleaning.   Every Saturday night, I just want to eat pasta, hydrate, and go to bed early.  Kind of lame!  But worth it?

Costs so far:

  • Race registration, $150 (or close to that)
  • New shoes and insoles, $120 (I may need another pair before I’m done)
  • Energy Food at REI, $20:  Clif Shot Bloks & salt tablets
  • Water bottles to attach to my belt, $15:  Add they are SO annoying!
  • Gym Membership, 30/mo 4 months & counting:  $120
  • Compression socks, $30:  I kept stealing T’s & they feel so good!
  • 24 pack of Gus, $25 or soI’m also probably going to enter several training races over the next few months, and those add up fast!  Not to mention gas and hotel for the race itself…
  • Audiobook, $11:  I mostly listen to podcasts while I run – 3+ hours of music doesn’t do it for me, you know?  I am learning so much about such random things!  I just bought myself this audiobook as a special treat.

Looking at this and my running schedule, I feel like I probably won’t do another marathon.  It’s expensive and time consuming.  But it is oh so rewarding, and I haven’t even gotten to the race yet, so I can’t rule it out!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 6:52 am

    What are compression socks?

    • SP permalink*
      February 8, 2011 7:57 am

      Basically, they are tight socks that go up to your knee. While it is unproven, it is generally accepted they aid in recovery.

      They have long been used in medical settings for treatment of edema and varicose veins. Some people with jobs that require them to be on their feet wear them too. Some runners wear them while racing, but I just wear them after really long runs. The effects seem to be unproven thus far, but they feel really really nice on tired muscles.

  2. February 8, 2011 7:55 am

    Good Luck with your marathon. Where did you get a 24 pack of gus? I keep trying to track down that guy, but he never wants to talk.

    • SP permalink*
      February 8, 2011 8:01 am

      Just on Amazon. A local cycling store has sales on it sometimes too, but energy/performance food seems hard to come by at a good price!

  3. February 8, 2011 12:19 pm

    You are doing awesome!! From a marathon who is awful at training… you will get hooked after your first race. It’s amazing how many different emotions you go through over the course of 26.2 miles. But it’s awesome! Keep it up!

  4. February 9, 2011 8:28 am

    Wow! That is so impressive! That’s amazing that you’re running that much!

  5. February 9, 2011 8:47 am

    Wow, nicely done on the training so far! Good luck with the marathon 🙂

  6. February 10, 2011 1:10 pm

    I absolutely LOVE your mile counter in the side bar. I currently have financial counters set up, but I love this idea of logging your miles. How do you do it, do you have a Garmin watch or something that tracks your distance?

    I also like your idea of the audio book for a long run. I’m going to be training this spring to start running, I’ll be sure to get an audio book for that.

    • February 11, 2011 8:44 am

      Thanks!

      I do have a Garmin (the older forerunner 305) to track my outdoor runs, and I just track my weekday treadmill miles myself. For shorter distances, i’ll listen to music, but I definitely like books and also, podcasts. Much more entertaining to me!

      I used to have financial counters, but I”m “between goals” (haha) right now and will have to get them up again soon!

Leave a Reply

