Skip to content

What about my old car?

February 16, 2011

T and I bought a new car last month (!!!) and we are temporarily a two car family!

Except, the extent of use the old car gets is weekly moves around the neighborhood to accommodate street cleaning.  T is welcome to use it during the day, but he always has commuted by bus.  It is almost easier to not have to deal with parking at the university.

My dad is too funny, and told me that I should continue to drive the old car to work and such, in order to avoid putting miles on the new car.

“But… what is the new nicer car for then??  I don’t get it.  I want to drive it!”

“Just to have it when you need it!”

“But for what?”

” . . .”

I definitely plan to take good care of my new car, but I also plan to use it for it’s intended purpose – driving, mainly to and from work.  He also suggested I park way far from entrances to stores to avoid door dings and get the windows tinted to protect the interior.  That first scratch or door ding is going to be so painful!

ANYWAY. Since I don’t need to keep the old car around in order to avoid using up the new one, what are we doing with it?  The kelly blue book private party value is something like $1500.  It is in immediate need of a new timing belt and has a slow leak on the transmission fluid (that was supposedly fixed, so I need to bring it back in and complain), but other than that, it runs very well.  Since it moved to california with me, it isn’t rusted, and it has pretty low miles for a 10-11 year old car.

We didn’t trade it in because I feel like trade-ins are generally a rip off.  I offered to sell it to my dad for a good bargain.  We’ve settled on $1000, but I might try to talk him down to $750.   It feels weird, since my parents gave me the car in the first place (I helped with it, but I DON’T recall how much).  My mom is getting a newer car soon, but my dad and sister both don’t mind driving older cars.  I think my little sister is getting this one.

I’m not sure how soon this will happen, since they are going to visit me and pick it up, but probably within the next month or so.  Yay!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 6:18 am

    That’s nice that it is staying in the family.

    My brother LOVES my car. He wants me to sell it to him when I’m done with it. But I would feel really bad if it died on him so I think I might just drive it until it dies myself. It’s 12 years old already, I honestly don’t think it has too much life left in it unfortunately.

  2. February 16, 2011 7:25 am

    Awwwww yay for you! New cars are so exciting. I have yet to buy a new – or used, or any car really, since I get hand-me-down cars.

Leave a Reply

