Skip to content

March Goals

March 6, 2011

Before I go off on my long list of ambitions for the month, I want to note (complain!)  that I’m scheduled to be “on-call” for jury duty this month!  It really could not come at a worse time, but I already rescheduled it once (from an equally awful time), so I’m stuck.  We are supposed to be doing practice runs of our presentations (mentioned below) that week, and I’m really really hoping it is a 1 day (or less!) commitment.

Work:

Do an amazing job in my part of the presentation.  Some VIPs are coming –not just the “usual” VIPS, but like, super-VIPs.  And lot of people in general – well over 100 is expected.    I generally enjoy presenting, but making my slides is already a huge headache, and I’m a little nervous!

And do it while taking next Friday off.  (Not technically a work goal, but it requires being very efficient at work.)  The next 3 weeks are going to be crazy, but I have a friend in town and I want to have at least one day to hang out with her.  Even if it means coming in on one of the weekend days to make up for that.

Apply for development program. I’m not 100% convinced what I’ll get out of it or if I’ll be selected), but I’m going to pursue it.

  • Update resume
  • Attend info session
  • Talk to manager about it
  • Talk to co-worker who is involved
  • Attend resume session
  • Complete application

Do some self-training. Vague, but I’m working through a book to refresh my memory on something.

  • Finish training book by end of month.  I’m on chapter 5 of 15, and they get longer/harder as you go! (20-30 hours total).
  • Reading/understand at least 1 paper, maybe more (spend 5+ hours on this)

Fitness

Stick to marathon training plan. “Stick to” is not really what I mean, because I certainly haven’t been following it strictly.  I’ve been doing my best, and while finishing this marathon is really IMPORTANT to me, getting an impressive (or… not horribly awful) time is not.  It would be wonderful to put my all into training, but there are too many other things that have are more important.  I’m hitting all my long runs (20 miles a couple weeks ago!) and prioritizing my speed work, and… I’m doing my best!

Run two practice races.  I have one half scheduled, and the other 10k I think I might just do race day registration.

Try out homemade energy gel. Because I don’t have anything else going on this month, right?

I also really want to add “try out snowshoeing!”  but I’m looking at my schedule, and I’m refraining.  Snowshoeing is not a priority.  But it sounds fun!

Pull yourself together! Somewhat inspired by the work stuff, but also, just general y needs to be done.

  • Get a haircut.  It is scheduled, so this should happen!
  • Mani/pedi.
  • Eyebrow shaping
  • Make sure outfits for presentations are well put together

Other

Run taxes through another program and file them. I’m secretly hoping T does this, otherwise it is likely not going to happen this month.  We OWE money this year.  Sad.

Social commitments (not goals per say, just commitments)

Use wine-tasting Groupon before it expires.  Just in Malibu, so this is just an afternoon.

Hosting friend (and her friend) in my living room next Tues-Saturday

Attend friends birthday dinner & game night. I suppose I should bring a present?  Do adults still do birthday presents for friends?  We are not super close, but more than acquaintances.  Ack!

Book Club. This is a stretch, but…  I really hope to make it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2011 8:36 pm

    Good luck with the presentations! And regarding the friend – I don’t think it’s necessary to bring a gift. A birthday card and a bottle of wine (Prosecco if she likes bubbly, Moscato if she likes sweet, and a good Barefoot cab if she likes a red… all under $7) would be a nice touch though. Because… who doesn’t like wine?

  2. March 7, 2011 10:20 am

    wow, that is a lot. But I love the fact that you have written it all down. They say the most successful people are the ones with written out goals who actively work them every day. I am going to use this idea for my self. Thanks.

  3. March 7, 2011 10:52 am

    Daaaaamn girl! You’ve got a busy month. I admire your organization though – way to be proactive. I could definitely queue from you on goal setting – particularly in regards to short-termers.

    Regarding snow-shoeing – I hope you get to do it soon! I read once that one burns more calories per hour while snow-shoeing than any other activity. It’s intense! Plus, it forces you to use muscles that you don’t typically use because of the way you have to walk and maintain your balance.

    Good luck!

    • SP permalink*
      March 7, 2011 3:08 pm

      I know – i’m kind of freaking out about this month, but trying to remember to breathe!

      My schedule isn’t normally this crazy, and I can’t wait for life to get back to normal!

  4. March 7, 2011 2:05 pm

    WOW! It sounds like you’ve got a lot on your plate right now.

    Good luck with your to-do list.

Trackbacks

  1. March Updates « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

