Skip to content

Yay, I was wrong!

March 14, 2011

That isn’t a sentence I say often.  Not that I’m never wrong, it just never has a “yay!” out front, and it is more a begrudging admission rather than an enthusiastic exclamation.

Last month I claimed that we owed about $1200 in taxes.  Luckily, I had forgotten (?!) to enter T‘s estimated quarterly taxes, so we are actually getting a refund!  Of $900 or so!  I know I entered the numbers at one point, but maybe I deleted them?  I also knew we had to do a double/triple check to do before filing, and entrusted T with the task to run the numbers through another program.   I returned from my long run sunday (collapsing, dying) and could barely muster any enthusiasm when he informed me of his results.  Now that I’ve had a chance to think about it…  I’m excited!

This will go into one of our 3 savings funds:  emergency, long term savings, or car fund.  We’ve been working on our joint savings and budgeting, and should be ready to move forward with it April 1st (no fooling!).   We have almost all of our cash savings at one bank, and I’ve invited him (via an email link) to be a joint owner of these accounts.  For some reason, he hasn’t accepted, so all of our cash is mine!  Mwahahaha! (Only kidding….  And yes, I did google “evil laugh” to figure out what the appropriate evil laugh syntax is.)

Taxes were a big reason I wanted to combine our savings accounts.  Now we don’t have to discuss who gets the refund or how it should be split.  It just goes into “our” accounts.  (Which are still all mine, techincally.  But that’s his own fault!)

 

muahahaha
4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 8:58 pm

    Mwahahaha indeed!! Whee for being THAT wrong! Cause that’s about $2000 wrong, not only not paying out of pocket, but money back in! Yay!

    Ok, that’s a lot of exclamation points.

  2. March 15, 2011 5:49 am

    AWESOME!!!

  3. March 15, 2011 8:01 am

    Yay for being wrong! That’s great!

  4. March 16, 2011 8:01 am

    I think that is one of those situations that you happily accept failure. However, I have done the same thing and the computer mysteriously erased the information. What platform were you using?

Leave a Reply

