Skip to content

March Updates

March 21, 2011

Work

I decided not to apply for the leadership program at work.  I got stalled on the “write 300 words about your future career path” type question and realized I needed to stop, take a deep breath, and really soul search about where I want my career to take me before bounding off in one direction or another.  This program will be here in the future.  I think a better first step would to simply be more involved in networking events that don’t require an application process.

I’m just sort of used to being  an achiever.  Like many of you are too,  I suspect.  And I really don’t know where to focus my efforts in my career.  I really don’t know what I want to achieve.  This fact became apparent in a conversation with an older & wiser coworker.  If you don’t know what you want, how will you get it?

One answer is to chase after an interesting opportunity that might open doors.  Another answer is to figure out what you want.  I’m going to focus on the figuring for awhile, but if I haven’t made any progress next year, I’ll apply anyway.  By then, I may have 300 words to say about what I think I might want.   (PS – any advice on how to figure out what it is you want from a career?)

Fashion

Thanks for the advice last week.  I definitely returned the brown suit, with a little embarrassment since I’d just purchased it!  Oh well.   I think a black suit and a gray suit is all I need, and I should be able to create a third “mix and match” outfit out of it.

Running

I skipped my long run this weekend due to the monsoon/typhoon.  Poor LA marathon runners!   Training is going ok, but I’m not as gung-ho as I was a month ago.  Oh!  And part of highway 1 fell into the ocean, so they had to change the marathon course!  I’m not super disappointed as that means I no longer have to run over the largest hill!

Finances

I don’t know if I explicitly mentioned this, but I haven’t been tracking my spending at all in 2011.  This will change in April.  We have our accounts combined enough, I have my new salary stuff, and there really is no excuse.  Back to reality, right?  April 1st!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2011 8:38 pm

    Work – I feel exactly the same way. I do know that I want more normal working hours, but beyond that….not a clue. Like you, I think I’m just going to kind of see what opportunities come along.

    Running: Ugh, don’t know if I’m in shape to do a 10k next week. Between crazy work hours + lots going on in life, I’ve been a bit slack in the last month or two.

    Finances: See above, have hardly tracked either! Need to sit down this week, get cracking and budget.

  2. March 21, 2011 11:43 pm

    I’ve been going on for years not really knowing what I wanted. My boss has been hounding me for years to figure out what I want, so that I can build a career path out of it. I’ve just been taking on interesting assignments and have loved it so far… but maybe it’s time to blaze forward with intent? I made a decision the other day about a direction I’d like to follow, but since it’s exactly what I’ve been saying for years I don’t want to do, I’m a little nervous about heading in that direction! Ahh!

    I have no advice except to do a bit of soul-searching.

  3. March 25, 2011 11:01 pm

    Work: Unfortunately, I’m still working on this question for myself right now. I’ve been incredibly cranky because of my lack of specific goals & growth direction of late. I’ve always had a five year plan and not having one now makes it difficult to excel properly – performing highly but being aimless doesn’t quite fit right.

    PiC and I need to work on putting our finances together as well, that’s going to be … interesting…. April, uh, 30th? 🙂

  4. March 31, 2011 10:06 am

    Nice post. I think your first point is a place where most people get hung up. I often have an issue with this question. The problem is, I know that if I don’t answer this, I won’t be going anywhere fast. But, anyways, thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

