Skip to content

Summer Travel Plans

April 21, 2011

My travel fund is in serious need of some TLC in order to prepare for my upcoming summer plans.

I’ll say up front that two trips to Europe in two years isn’t something we can reasonably sustain on our budget long term. Honestly, I’m fretting a little at how little cold hard cash we have saved the past two years (though save lots for retirement).   Between the wedding, the honeymoon, and a new car, our cash reserves are lower than they have been for some time.  And I feel like they are growing so slowly!

However, now is when we have time to do it. T has an opportunity for a free flight, and he should be having a real job with a real income sometime in the next year or so.  He also has an offer for a summer job, but I doubt the pay impact will be significant (he gets paid more in the summer and gets basically unlimited vacation).  He’ll make that decision based on where he’ll get the best experience/work.

Memorial Day weekend, Yosemite:

The campsite is reserved & paid for.  We’ll need gas & food, but this should be a low budget nature adventure.  I am SO excited!  I am hoping the snow will be melted enough such that Half Dome will be open (we have hiking permits), but I’m not sure it will be.  Either way, the waterfalls should be flowing strong!

July visit home:

I bought my plane ticket for $600 (yeah, really!) this month.  I’m only going for about 4 days and I had little flexibility on my dates due to not wanting to use vacation days.  I may have to rent a car (I hope not – more $$) because my flight arrival time is pretty inconvenient.   Other than that, my expenses should be fairly minimal.   T isn’t coming, mostly because we would rather keep the money.  I’m excited, and I know it’ll be a nice relaxing few days.

August St. Petersburg / Norway Extravaganza:
Nothing is booked or paid for, and I haven’t even worked up the budget for this.  This is the big one though, much more expensive than any other item on the list.

The main reason we are going is because T’s ticket will largely be paid for (he’s going for school related stuffs) and we’ll have accommodations in St. Petersburg.  I’m tagging along and turning it into a vacation.  I have a friend currently living in Norway, so we’ll stay with her for part of the trip.  Norway is really really expensive, so that will save us some money.  Plus she said we can drive north to see the midnight sun!

Per usual, I don’t have enough vacation time to cover a reasonable length trip to Europe, but I’m going to make it work.  Most likely using a bit of unpaid time off again.  From what I can tell, this will be an ok time of year to do that, and this is a really great opportunity.

The worst case scenerio is that I ditch the norway part and just tag along to St. Petersberg (much cheaper, much less awesome).

Fall Mt. Whitney hike:
We are climbing Mt. Whitney this year!  Finally!  We’re doing it as a several day backpack, rather than a day hike.  Again, this should be relatively low budget since it is a backpacking trip.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2011 8:48 am

    I wouldn’t suggest renting a car when you go back home. Even if your flight times are inconvenient, your family can still do it. I picked up a friend from the train when she arrived at 3:30 a.m. and I was fine with it. Yosemite sounds like so much fun. My ancestry is Norwegian so I would love to see Norway. I’ve heard that its very expensive there.

  2. SP permalink*
    April 22, 2011 10:18 am

    I don’t plan to rent a car if I can help it, but I feel bad not offering to. My flight gets in to a city a good hour from where my family will be, so it makes for a 2 hr trip for someone. So we will see.

    My heritage is Norwegian too (typical for the area I guess) which is a big reason I’m determined to make the trip work. It looks very expensive so far! I’m so glad we’ll be able to stay with my friend for at least part of it!

  3. April 27, 2011 1:58 pm

    My vacations sound quite a bit like yours at this point, though none of mine are set in stone. Enjoy your trip to Yosemite, I’d love to make it out there sometime

Trackbacks

  1. Summer Travel Plans « mefaba.com
  2. Flight Times Renting Car - Rental Cars at Low Rates – Rental Cars at Low Rates

Leave a Reply

