Skip to content

Friday Finances and Fun

April 29, 2011

No one called Kate and William “tacky” for using a very effective frugal wedding tip:  Get married on a Friday!  Although I am positive no royal wedding decisions were made for frugal reasons.

I just paid our joint credit card bill for just over $3000.  Yikes!  We used to split the credit card in half, but T’s new bill is savings.  He transferred $2,500 to our efund this month, and it is now fully funded at $25k.

Our new budgeting system is working ok – but we are over budget in about a million areas.  That is what I expected, and we’ll work on fixing that in May.

It is marathon weekend!  Literally!  As opposed to how sometimes you are so busy or overwhelmed your weekend feels like a marathon.  Or not watching several episodes of a TV show in a row.  I don’t know how the word marathon even came to be associated with TV watching.   I’m literally running 26.2 miles this weekend!  Eeep!

Since I”ve ran about 474 miles this year, I’ll also hit the 500 mile mark in my yearly goal to run 1000.

I really kind of sort of want to buy a romper for summer.  Am I too late?  Am I too old?

Happy weekend everyone!  I’m looking forward to devoting more energy to my blogging and my money post-marathon!

Oh, and some congratulations are in order!

Congratulations to Krystal for becoming a homeowner!

Congratulations to Well Heeled and eemusings for becoming engaged!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2011 9:02 am

    Good luck with the marathon this weekend! You’re killing me in our running goals and mine is only to get to 500 for the year so you’ve inspired me to get back out there and keep at it.

  2. April 29, 2011 9:10 am

    They spent $100 million on the wedding to bring in $1 billion in tourism.

    Everything is done in the name of business 🙂 The Queen is also on a leash to be frugal for the wedding. They have a budget for the food and she is to stay on that, hence why it’s a buffet this year and not a sit down elegant dinner.

  3. April 29, 2011 12:57 pm

    That was last month – but appreciate the kind words 🙂

  4. April 29, 2011 1:02 pm

    Thanks for the shout out! 🙂

  5. April 29, 2011 1:36 pm

    Thanks! I was going to email you about your photographer? Did you like how the pictures turned out? How much did you pay? If you can give me more details over email, that’d be awesome!

  6. May 2, 2011 7:47 am

    I’m sure that you’ve already ran the marathon by now. Great job! That is a huge accomplishment in itself.

    You’re not too old for a romper.

  7. May 2, 2011 12:06 pm

    Can’t wait to hear how your marathon went. Do tell!

Trackbacks

  1. Friday Finances and Fun « mefaba.com

Leave a Reply

