Skip to content

Big Sur Marathon: Check!

May 3, 2011

The race was beautiful.  No wind, no rain, just miles of coastal beauty!

For privacy reasons, I can’t share my exact time, but the range was between 4:15 and 4:30.  This is a pretty wide range, but there you go.  Oh, and I’m really happy with my time – I had no idea what to expect for  a marathon, much less an incredibly hilly one such as Big Sur.  Really happy.

I felt well prepared and didn’t hit a hard wall that I’d heard so much about.  In fact, mile 23 was my fastest mile on the whole course!  I credit the yummy fresh strawberries they had around mile 22.

Back to work today, and I’m only hobbling a little bit.  My quads are sore/dead from the downhill part, and I’m a little worn down.  But I’m elated!  Racing is so much fun!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2011 8:03 am

    Awesome! Congrats. You made in great time, especially with the hills

  2. May 3, 2011 8:51 am

    Congratulations on completing the Big Sur marathon with a pretty wicked time! It’s inspiring to know that afterwards you are still able to mostly move and have returned to work without taking two days to recover.

    It’s truly inspiring!!

  3. May 3, 2011 9:09 am

    Wow! It must be gorgeous running there.

    I’ve only visited Monterey briefly but never had a chance to see the rest of the Big Sur. What an awesome place to race 🙂

    • SP permalink*
      May 3, 2011 9:17 pm

      Actually, due to a mudslide, the course started/finished in monterey and never made it quite to big sur! This worked out ok for me, as we went only as far as Big Sur last year on an extended weekend. The whole area is gorgeous.

      The course is known to have wind and sometimes rain, so I really got lucky on such a beautiful day!

  4. May 3, 2011 9:46 am

    Awesome 🙂 Congratulations on finishing your first marathon! Are you thinking about doing another one?

    • SP permalink*
      May 3, 2011 9:18 pm

      Maybe… no plans yet! I’m going to do some shorter races this summer (5k & 10ks) and probably a half in the fall. Then I’ll see!

  5. May 3, 2011 10:50 am

    Nice work!

  6. May 3, 2011 1:37 pm

    A huge congrats to you!!! I just did my very first half marathon on Sunday. Love your medal and the view!!!

  7. May 3, 2011 7:41 pm

    Wow! Way to go!

  8. May 9, 2011 3:50 pm

    Congratulations on your first marathon. It sounds so beautiful! I think you and I run the same pace! Whoo-hoo!

Trackbacks

  1. Big Sur Marathon: Check! « mefaba.com
  2. Fitness & Finance « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

