Skip to content

Little splurges, big splurges

June 15, 2011

My favorite little splurges:

  • Used books on amazon.  I cannot get into PaperbackSwap or the library, because running errands is the bane of my existence.  I usually give away my books when I’m done.  (This model makes me question why I’m so worried about an e-reader.  I hate the idea of not sharing or being able to resell books, but I spend about $6 or $7 a book anyway, and almost never resell… ?)
  • Latte’s every morning, with the good beansIntelligentsia is popular among the coffee crowd, but we get our beans from Groundworks.  Beans run us about $8/week.  The espresso maker was our Christmas gift.
  • Farmer’s Market produce & CSA.  Not always, but lately we’ve been making an effort to get our produce at the farmer’s market.  We are also still getting our CSA once a month.  This encourages me to cook & try out new types of veggies I otherwise might be scared to try.

Big splurges are not so much my thing.  I like to get some new clothes now and then, but I just can’t justify designer, no matter what.  And I have tried!  But I’m not a designer type of woman, I guess.  My big splurge is, quite clearly, travel.  Trips home and little trips around California alone probably cost me at least $1000 a year (not counting T’s trips home).  Big trips will probably be another $2000 this year.

I suppose my new car was a huge splurge – the most expensive thing we’ve ever bought!  But I figure that if I waited 5 years for a new car (and probably will drive this one for a LONG time).

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2011 7:51 am

    Books are such a fun splurge. We’re lucky to have a library really close to us and every time I go in I’m a little pumped by the idea that I can take out any of these books for free. Even if it is free it still feels like an indulgence to come home with a pile of books.

    I have the same reservations about the ereaders. The price of books for them is just too expensive for my taste especially with the associated limitations.

  2. June 15, 2011 9:11 am

    I’m definitely a member of the splurging on coffee club, and I LOVE Intelligentsia coffee. It’s hard to find up here (in Toronto) but it’s so yummy. I started buying the better quality beans a few years ago, and I just can’t go back. But also, I probably buy a coffee or latte once or twice a week. It’s a small little indulgence, and totally unnecessary, but it makes me happy. The little things, right?

    I’m also not big on “big” splurges, though I did recently splurge and buy an iPad. I spent weeks talking myself into it, but now, I’m so glad I did. Travel, too, but that’s really it.

  3. El Cheapo permalink
    June 17, 2011 3:58 pm

    To be honest, I could not imagine my life w/o coffee. Good coffee that is. Intelli is ridiculously good and just opened a couple blocks away from me, but I will have to try out Groundworks next time I’m in beach cities. Thanks SP!!!

Leave a Reply

