Skip to content

June Gloom

June 22, 2011

First things first.  I have family in Minot, ND and they need your prayers.  Several of my cousins have been evacuated for the second time, and we’re all hoping their homes remain intact and free from water.  You also can donate to Red Cross if you want to help out financially.  I’ve been following the news, and it is really really tragic and scary.

Back to regularly scheduled programming.

———-

June is FLYING by and money is flying out of our budget.  Travel expenses.  Ouch.  So far (these are all for TWO):

  • $320 to get from St. Petersburg to Stockholm
  • $140 to get from Stockholm to Oslo
  • $500 to get from Oslo to Bergen (via Norway in a Nutshell)
  • One night hotel in Oslo:  $110
  • Two nights hotel in Stockholm:  $260

Yikes!  The good news is we’ve now booked everything that we are going to pre-book for this trip and we probably won’t have much for travel expenses in July.  Oh, except the visa.  Those will be about $250 each.  T’s will be reimbursed later, but mine won’t.

Then there is the normal budget busters, like a random Monday night birthday party at a cute little bar, $80.  Or a couple summer tops to refresh my work wardrobe.  I can NEVER find tops, but LOFT had a nice sale going on and I liked several, so I bought several ($100).  I also ordered a dress in a size six (2 sizes too big), so we’ll see if that has potential of being tailored or not.  Because I liked it, and I have a wedding to go to this summer. (The last wedding I went to, I ended up dress shopping one or two days in advance, and ended up with something I liked ok, but didn’t really love.  I was in a hurry, so I didn’t have time to be picky.  It’s a nice dress, just more conservative than I would have liked.)

Also, just normal stuff, rent, groceries, gas, and life.

To make it worse, I dropped my phone today and the screen cracked.  It was free with a 2-year contract, but new ones are about $250.  Suddenly I do not think the crack is so bad, and as long as my phone doesn’t fall apart, I’ll just get a new case ($5) and deal with a crack.

The good news is, T started his new job, and we’ll have a tiny bit of extra income for the next 3 months.  Still, now that I have a more complete picture of our joint finances, I think we need to scale back in a few places the rest of this year.   I don’t know where to cut, but restaurants/food will make a good target, as well as clothing.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2011 8:31 pm

    SP, I will be thinking of your family in Minot. It’s really scary what’s going on there right now. At least they are safe. I hope the same for their house. Our entire state has been hit so hard with various flooding.

    Your trip sounds fantastic. You will have to take anonymous pictures that you can show us.

    • June 23, 2011 7:58 am

      Whenever I see ND on the news, it is for floods or blizzards. (Or sometimes it pops up on those “great place to raise a family” lists.) So sad.

      I will definitely take photos!

  2. June 23, 2011 6:02 am

    Positive thoughts and prayers to your family.

    That sounds like a really awesome travel experience!

  3. June 23, 2011 7:37 am

    I’m so sorry to hear about your family. I’m sending good thoughts there ways. This has been a very expensive month for me as well. I love Stockholm and I have a special affinity to Norway because I have family there. You are going to have an amazing trip!!

    • June 23, 2011 7:57 am

      Really? I have ancestors in Norway (my grandmother is 100% Norwegian) but I don’t know any of them or even where they are from. I will find out before I go though!

  4. kim permalink
    June 23, 2011 8:11 am

    I remember those days as a child. The red river flooded every year. My childhood stomping grounds are in Velva and Turtle lake. Hot windy, cold windy. Great people. My Swedish accent returns the minute I cross the Dakota border. I will pray for your relatives. Scary and messy!

  5. June 24, 2011 1:17 pm

    What’s happening in Minot is crazy – I’ve got some friends there (though I’m not sure if the husband is in the country right now or not). I hope your family makes it out Ok.
    I’m having a spending june similar to what you are as well – it’s not any fun, either.

  6. June 26, 2011 12:25 pm

    Sending positive vibes for you’re family. Natural disasters are so devastating.

    On a more positive note, I can’t wait for you to travel and blog about it. It seems like a once in a lifetime experience. Yay.

Leave a Reply

