Skip to content

June Reading

June 26, 2011

I read like a maniac in June!  I think not having so much running on my plate really freed up my time!

Cutting For Stone:  It took me until page 300 to get into this, so, impressive that I finished it at all.  At least to me.  All in all, I don’t think it was worth the effort – a good book, and perhaps even better if you are into medicine, but just too slow for the first 300 pages!  Definitely the only book I’ve read set (primarily) in Ethiopia, so that was fun.  One of my favorite parts of reading is seeing parts of the world I may never get a chance to!

Undress Me in the Temple of Heaven:  I loved it partially (largely?) because I’d been to many of the places the author wrote about, but 20 or 30 years later.  While the country is very different in such a short time, the feelings it inspires in spoiled westerners (primarily “WTF, China?) were the same.  Plus it wasn’t just some self-indulgent tome on young travels and sexcapades.  Much more intersting than that.  If you read one book on my list, read this one.  Although the cover is appalling, IMO!

Runaway:  A collection of short stories.  Good, but I still prefer novels.

Map of the Invisible World:   I am not quite sure what inspired me to choose this book (used from Amazon) a few months back.  It is not super popular and no one recommended it to me.  Still, I quite enjoyed it.  Set in 1963/4 Indonesia, it was a culture and time I know embarrassingly little about (despite having visited Bali, with a tourist’s eyes).  Of course it is just fiction, but I felt like each character presented me with a tiny view of their life in this setting.

The Heart is a Lonely Hunter:  This is one of those “classics” I bought at some point in my life and never finished.  I’m making an effort to read those.  It was a good (incredibly sad) story, but I can’t say that I loved it until the very end.  The style wasn’t my favorite, and a lot of the book I though “yes, but get on with the plot already!”  The end was touching.

The Solitaire Mystery:  I read this mainly because I was looking for Norwegian literature, but the first thing the characters did was leave Norway to go on a big road trip through Europe.  Hmph.  It was some what of a grown up version of a fairy tale and I did enjoy it.  This author wrote Sophie’s World, which has a similar flavor but was much longer and heavier I think

This is my current novel, The Master and the Margarita.  I saw eemusings read this, and I was looking for russian lit, so it seemed like worth trying.  There are a lot of footnotes (intimidating!) but the language is way more readable than I expected.  I’m only on chapter two, so… we’ll see!

To be honest, I had forgotten how AWESOME reading is!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2011 11:20 am

    I am SUCH a reader! However, since I moved to NYC, the past few months have been an absolute whirlwind and I rarely find time to read. My Mom LOVED Cutting for Stone and passed it on to me, however I’ve had a hard time getting into it. Like you, once I got about 2/3 in, I haven’t been able to put it down. I actually have plans today to finish it!

    Undress Me in the Temple of Heaven is definitely going on my list to read…but I completely agree about the weird cover?!

    • June 26, 2011 3:12 pm

      I used to read so much more, but other things gradually took over (school+work, wedding, marathon training)… so nice to be back to it!

      The cover makes it seem like such a trashy book, but (thankfully) it barely has anything regarding sexual adventures at all! (Luckily i had hardcover and could take off the photo). f

  2. June 27, 2011 7:09 am

    If you’re looking for Russian books I’d have to recommend Crime and Punishment if you haven’t read it. There’s a reason it’s a classic.

    I’m also struggling with finding the time to read recently – work has been super busy and I’ve been working a lot of extra hours.

  3. Becca permalink
    June 27, 2011 7:16 am

    I really liked Undress Me in the Temple of Heaven too. I read it a while ago and it sticks with you.

  4. June 28, 2011 4:26 am

    Holy a lot of books for one month! Awesome!

    • June 28, 2011 8:52 pm

      For sure! I should note I was most of the way through about 3 of them when the month started… But still!

  5. July 1, 2011 6:55 pm

    Agree with your comment on Cutting For Stone…it was just a bit too “medical” for me but I got through it eventually.

    If you’re looking for a good Norwegian book, I’d recommend Out Stealing Horses by Per Petterson…the Norwegian setting is practically it’s own character.

    • July 9, 2011 7:57 pm

      I did read that! The previous month, so I didn’t include it. I liked it a lot too. 🙂

  6. July 9, 2011 8:41 pm

    Um, wow. Your reading blows my reading out of the water. I am lucky to get through a book a month when I’m at home. It’s its easy chick lit, I can get through it in a couple days, but I try to only read those on the beach. 🙂

    • July 10, 2011 9:49 am

      I probably read more books in June than the entire rest of the year, so don’t be too impressed!

Trackbacks

  1. June Goal Results « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

